Fortune Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2000
I felt that the recipe tasted very good for a fortune cookie. On the other hand, it was very discouraging for me to fold the cookie the correct way. It would cool to quickly and I wouldn't have enough time to fold it. Overall, fortune cookies are extremely difficult to make, and make well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I made 200 fortune cookies as wedding favors. Everybody loved them. They were easy to make and went fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I tried several fortune cookie recipes and this one was the easiest one, the cookies came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
They tasted really good, but I couldn't get them to turn out right. They lost their shape and either burned quickly or wouldn't harden. After messing with them for an hour I gave up. I'm not sure where I went wrong. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
Aside from the fact that these cookies were difficult to shape (no fault of the recipe), they are fantastic - they taste great and look good. A few tips: 1. Cut a round mold into the top of a plastic container, then spread the batter with a long metal spreader; this will give the cookies a smoother surface and make the shaping easier because the cookies will cook more evenly. 2. I cut down on the amount of sugar by almost half a cup - it made them better for my taste buds but didn't adversely affect the baking process. 3. Wear a pair of thin non-wool gloves (you don't want little fibres getting all over your cookies) when shaping the cookies - they are hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
I loved this recipe! It is a MUST to have the rack in the oven level, as the dough is extrememly thin and will "run". I also put the slips of paper in as I shaped them hot from the oven - no problem. Instead of fortunes, I put my favorite memories with my boyfriend and gave them to him for Valentine's Day. He loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
It was reallie kewl. It came out perfect. Then I had and idea after making so many after 2 months. I tried them in different colors! It was so kewl! I used foodcoloring! I shared some with mi 5th grade class and it was such a success!!! It was so fun getting all the compliments! And you should try to put colors too! try different colors each time you wanna bake. To make them all mostly folded, just put like 1-6 at a time. That's what I did. And when I do the colors, fill a little container with little batter, then put food coloring. Mix well. All of the above. I hope you love muah idea!!! I'm outie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
These were terrific and versatile. The taste, while not identical to a commercial fortune cookie, was perfect for serving solo. I also served them as an accompaniment to pineapple sorbet and peach-orange sorbet. I tried cooking them on parchment and flipped the paper and cooked cookie onto the bottom of custard cups to make dessert bowls for sorbets, but the parchment caused wrinkles so the "bowls" ended up with cracks and the cookies didn't harden the way they did when baked directly on the sheet. Baking directly on the sheet makes a big difference both in the texture and the consistency after cooling. I've also rolled them into tubes and tucked one in with each scoop of sorbet which made for a great, tasty presentation. They would also be good rolled in tubes with the ends dipped in chocolate for an elegant finish to a meal with coffee or hot tea. Haven't shaped the fortune cookies yet but will definately continue using this recipe! Thanks Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
Wonderful flavor and texture to the cookies. Like any cookie in this genre, they are best made on low humidity days. When I was in pastry classes I picked up a few tips for shaped cookies. 1. Cotton gloves protect the fingers from burns 2. Place the cookie sheet on a thick towel once removed from the oven. It helps retain a bit of heat. 3. I was really slow in my forming so my teacher had me work directly from the oven. That way the resting cookies are kept hot while you work the other one. You have to be very careful not to bang appendages and only have the 1 rack in the oven to minimize the chance of burning arms, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This recipe was terrific, but I have one suggestion for easier cookie manipulation. Instead of using a greased cookie sheet, use parchment paper OR that wonderful new "Release" stuff (aluminum foil). Once out of the oven, slide the cookie with paper off the cookie sheet, and then you can use pot holders to handle it. I made very large cookies and manipulated them into bowl shapes, rather than cookie shapes. A very elegant way to serve dessert (white chocolate mousse, in my case). The taste is great, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States