Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
This recipie is terrific! In my first few tries, the cookies stuck to the sheet, and by the time I pried them off, they were too cool, and broke upon folding. It's not very kid friendly because it involves handling hot cookies, but my son loves to eat them! A few hints: Add 1-2 teaspoons of melted butter to the batter and spray the cookie sheet with cooking spray. This makes it easier to remove from the sheet. You can do up to 6 small cookies on a sheet if they're small and if you have a someone to help you fold! After you fold a cookie, put them in the wells of a metal muffin tin, to help them keep their shape. That way you don't need to hold them until they cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
great for sleep overs for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
We have rewritten this recipe to make it easier to folow. We replaced the ingredient egg with egg white as it should have been and altered the instructions for simplicity and clarity based on suggestions from reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2001
Impressive. They look and taste just like the real thing, and are good for presantation. I like to give out big (HUGE) Fortune cookies for gifts, filled with something nice... PS--if the cookie cools before you can get it off the pan, put it back into the oven for a few minutes. It softens that way. Happy Baking! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
It took me 2 times to get this down, but now it's so easy! Here are my tips: try adding a little almond extract (maybe other extracts like lemon would be good too) in addition to the vanilla for a little pizzazz, turn the cookie sheet over and place the dough on that side to bake, work fast when they come out of the oven, quickly fold, shape it and place 2 in a muffin tin to hold the shape. I found the step with the measuring cup too time consuming the first time and my cookies cooled off. Once you get the pattern, it's a cinch! I can't wait for my guests to discover our wedding announcement "fortunes" at my wedding on April 7th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBCATZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
Wonderful idea for parties. I used them for a baby shower and incorporated them into a game. Instead of putting a fortune inside, I put the first line to a nursery rhyme on a slip of paper. Everyone drew a cookie and had to recite that nursery rhyme. Another idea... Dip in colored almond bark for a particular occasion. Good Luck and happy eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I think that these cookies taste terrific. Now, how they look is another thing! I got a little bit better at folding them as I practiced, but not by much! I wanted to do a test run of these cookies prior to Valentine's Day next week-I thought it would be fun to make these for my sons' classes with little V-Day messages inside of the cookies. I also added the butter to the batter-make sure it is melted-the first batch I used only softened butter and the batter was entirely too thick-the cookies ended up extremely "cakey". Also, grease the heck out of those cookie sheets! These cookies cool so quickly when they are removed from the oven-you must move quickly-even after making about 12 of these I could still only do 2 in the oven at a time-so this is definitely a lenghty process-but as in anything homemade-worth it. I am definitely going to keep at attempting to master this-how cool to make your own fortune cookies. Confucius say: Try this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Followed hints in reviews (added butter, lemon extract, made sure spread out batter, put in muffin tin). A big help is to spray Pam on both sides of spatula before removing each 2 cookies. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I don't know what happened with the other reviewers, but mine came out great! I made them for the store 3 times now, putting funny little sayings inside. They turned out great every time. :-)))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This worked wonderfully. I've tried 2 other recipes and neither ever got crispy. This had significantly less ingredients as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States