Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
They turned out great! My only suggestion is based off another review - make sure the cookies are so thin that you can see the pan underneath. I also unfortunately had to use a new pan for each batch, otherwise I'd have to wash it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Good flavor. I had to add a little water to thin out the batter otherwise it would have made a very thin sugar cookie. Spreading on a heated cookie sheet made it much easier to spread. If you can get your hands on some Watkins Danish Pastry extract use it in place of the vanilla~ amazing! I will definitely use this recipe again. If you live in a high humidity area like Florida, serve the same day you make them or they get sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOUNDMYZEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by Angie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I decided to try these ahead of time so we could perfect them before our Christmas Eve Chinese Feast! :) I haven't tried putting the paper in yet, but I'm confident after the test run that it'll be fine. So, here's what I did...following some tips already given by others. 1. Reduced sugar to 2 Tbsp....plenty sweet! 2. Added 1/2 Tbsp. of water to batter. 3. Baked at 375 for about 7 minutes...just until edge is starting to brown and center is set. 4. FOLD quickly!!! In half like a taco shell, then pinch the edges together...then over an edge of a bowl or pan or something to form the horse shoe bend. 5. Placed in muffin tin (see my picture) to keep them from unfolding. Now, at this point, even after cooling, they are still not crispy enough to "break open". So, once we were done, I turned the oven off...and about 10 minutes later stuck the muffin tin back in and just let it sit in there and dry out. They got a little more brown (like you are used to seeing at a restaurant)...and NICE and crispy! More tips...I got 4 out of this recipe, but they were kinda big...so I think the "6 servings" is correct. I made 2 at a time on a jelly roll pan sprayed with Pam...it worked perfectly. I just formed them in my hand...wasn't too hot. Next time I think I will double the recipe and do half vanilla and half orange extract. THANK YOU for this recipe!!! I'm not trying any others...this is the one, it just needed a little tinkering to make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
easy to make and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These are really good. I have a few suggestions. If you want them crunchy, place them back in the oven for about 5 minutes once you have folded them. I made about a dozen (this was recipe x2) put them in the cup of a cup cake pan and put them all back in the oven together. It is not necessary to do this immediately. Also, use SUPERFINE sugar only. if you don't the texture is way off and it almost tares when you fold it. If you don't want to purchase superfine sugar then just put regular sugar in a coffee grinder for about 10 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
way too thick/sweet, came out like muffin tops, maybe with some adjustments it would've worked, but I didn't have the time to redo & just put my fortunes in a cabbage shaped bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Hit and miss with a grade 12 class. A couple of groups did perfectly while others were bad. A few suggestions: 1. Make in a large measuring cup, this makes it easier to pour the butter onto the pan. 2. Bake 3 on one cookie sheet, then 3 on aother and 3 on a third. Stagger the times that you put them into the oven so that you have a couple of minutes between them. This way, you do not have a few that get too cold while you shape the first couple. If you fold the egg yolk back into the batter at the end, the colour will be more rich and golden - then nothing goes to waste either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
i give these 3 1/2 stars, they are really hard to form but the taste is excellent! It almost tastes like a hard crepe, although I added about half the sugar the recipe called for and it was sweet enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
too sweet but neat to make your own fortune cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DESNA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Followed directions exactly. Spray pan, wipe before spreading batter. Have a helper put the fortune down for you to save time. I did two cookies at a time. If they get too brown, they'll crack, but too white and it'll be chewy. Use a mini-muffin tin to hold the ends in place til cool. Beautiful! Best when eaten right away. They got really chewy - never really got crunchy like the ones from restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States