Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My particular cookies aren't uniform or necessarily beautiful, but they are fortune cookies! The recipe was easy, tasty and with a little practice I could do 4 cookies at a time. My daughter is thrilled to be taking them to school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I'm giving these 5 for cuteness. My daughter and I used this recipe to ask a boy to a dance. We made big ones and put a homemade fortune into it- the invitation to the dance. The taste was not like a conventional fortune cookie, but they didn't taste bad. Not 5 star taste though:) Here is what I did learn. We put 2 on a baking sheet. The grease actually makes it difficult to form the circles (the dough just slides down the sheet) and tilting the pan is the easiest way to get a uniform circle. I found it easier to put them on a silipat sheet with no grease. They did not stick, but where a little tricky to get up. The key is a wide spatula for sure and plastic worked better then medal for me. I also kept the second cookie on the baking sheet while working (folding) the first one because I learned with the first batch that if you let them cool even slightly they will break when you fold them up. We put these in a cute chinese take out box. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good tasting cookie and plenty crispy. Baked for 6 minuets. Had trouble spreading batter in perfect circles. I'm going to try adding 2T of water to the batter to help this as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Couldn't get them brown on the inside. I don't know why, it may be because I used regular all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great and very easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Preston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Very sweet and good. Have made several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
These had a yummy sweet taste (I kept the sugar at 1/4 cup, it was a bit sweet, but good). I added almond extract as well, and I think that was a lot of what the good taste was. I'm really unsure if the proportions are really correct or not. My oven cooked them a lot faster, 400 was too high. I did about 4 minutes at 375. Later on they got soft, even though they were very crunchy before (perhaps the muggy weather outside?) and I tried to re-crisp them in the oven but they burned! So don't make my mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Loo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Excellent! I don't care for the taste of store bought fortune cookies, but this recipe was great! I tripled the batch because I was taking them to a potluck. I also did as suggested by a previous post & did half vanilla & half imitation butter. I also lowered the heat in the oven to 385. My oven is a bit weird & uneven so they didn't look as pretty as the picture, but good enough. My kids can't wait to make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Before tackling this project, I read most of the reviews for tips. I made my "test" batch exactly as For the "real" deal, I reduced the sugar by 1/2, used parchment paper (no sticking at all), 3 cookies at a time and put them into mini cupcake tins immediate after shaping. The best idea was to place the cookie filled tins back into the oven (after baking is complete and oven turned off) for about an hour in order to let the cookies completely dry and darken a bit. They turned out crispy enough to break just like in a restaurant. Making over 100 as part of a bridal shower favor for my son's wedding.....very time consuming but cheaper than ordering them with custom "fortunes". I'll probably dip the edges into a little melted chocolate and sprinkle with rainbow jimmies. MMMMMMM!!! Hope the guests love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These were pretty easy to make and the other guests had fun with the fortunes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States