Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I had tried another recipe before this one they did not turned out good at all. After the reading the reviews I decided to try this one and have to say with the suggestions of "Angie C. dated Dec. 19, 2009, they came out perfect! I did add just a tad of Almond Extract and I kept the sugar the same at the original recipe. I think the key to this recipe is adding the water (I just kept adding water till it was a slightly runny consistansy). You will not be dissapointed. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I dropped the batter onto the pan with an ice cream scoop then turned the spoon over to use the curved part to smooth batter in a circle. My cookies cracked a little but it is nothing compared to the fun and creative messages one can create. I did add a little milk also to thin it out a bit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
i doubled the recipe and got 10 cookies. they turned out great! i sprayed the cookie sheet with pam and they came right off. i also used a rubber spatula sprayed with pam to spread them into circles on the pan...tilting the pan was not working for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
this recipe tastes great my only problem wa sthat when i took the cookies out they did not fold properly and started to split. i guess it must have been convection oven. Whatever, they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really hard to get in shape, but taste delicious. We ended up just eating them as flat cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These were good, and most impotantly, fun to make! We followed one reviewer's suggestion and added a little melted butter to the batter. It still needed to be thinned down with a little water. We ended up using non-stick spray on the cookie sheet for easier removal. This lessened the baking time by about a minute. My daughter had fun coming up with "fortunes". Her little sister got one that said "Always wear clean underwear". Good times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeidiLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Loved it. My figers are a bit red (didn't use gloves) but they turned out way better than I expected. I followed the recipe to the t except for adding a tablespoon of water. They're nice and crispy all except for the very center (which might have been my fault). Should I have left them in a bit longer (I was leaving em in approx. 7 min)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
good recipe, but add a little water. a little more than a teaspoon of mixture is needed for a cookie. let cook longer than 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShrinkingViolette
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Although it's a bit tricky to get right at first, the cookies are delicious, and once you get the hang of it the effort is really pretty minimal. I found an added tablespoon of water was necessary to make thin enough cookies (otherwise, they wouldn't get crisp for me), and added a little more vanilla to suit our personal tastes. Now, whenever I make bread with an egg yolk wash, I use the remaining egg white to make fortune cookies, and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I'm pretty good at baking, but couldn't get this recipe to work. I tried. I really tried. I tried the recipe 2 separate times, as well as, doing things differently on each tray. I used butter on the sheet. I used cooking spray on the sheet. I baked them at the right temp. I tried to lower the heat. The outside rim would get over baked/burnt and the inside would stay undercooked. The flavor is good and the folding is super easy. Don't know why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States