Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I have been wanting to try these for some time. This seemed like the simplest recipe, although I had to tweak it a little. I added a little water to thin the batter and baked for 9 minutes at 400F on a GREASED silicon baking sheet. These taste best the browner they get, but are inpossible to fold if they are completely brown. I thought about putting them back into the oven to dry them out. I found another reveiw that said to put them into a 250 oven in the muffin tin for 10 min. I will try this next time. I really want to bake these for xmas cookies, but they are very time-consuming. Be prepared to mess up the first couple batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Loved these, were simple and fast to make once I got the hang of it. Added some water to the batter 1 tsp at a time to make them thin enough to spread by tilting the pan. The circle shapes will NOT come out perfectly circular, but it doesn't matter, once they are folded no one will know (or care). They taste great, and as long as you keep them in an airtight container, they stay crisp for quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
They didn't quite taste or look like the ones you get at Chinese restuarants, but not bad! I still haven't gotten the hang of folding them...it's a lot more difficult than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I give these a 5 star !We had to bake them a little longer than called for.They were still chewy but I like them that way .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiedog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I finally got the hang of them on the last 2 or 3 cookies, but they were awesome. My guests loved them. I'll definately try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I know it is cheating, but if you use butter flavour instead of vanilla, they will taste like the buttery recipe ones, and still not have grease spots! (I used 1/2 vanilla extract and 1/2 butter flavour and they were awesome.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
After all the great reviews, I thought I found the perfect recipe. I had a problem with this recipe. They stuck really bad and I couldn't peel them off the sheet. I ended up serving them flat. However, they get 5 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe! I had my husband open these as part of a scavenger hunt for his 30th birthday and they turned out great! They tasted just like those we get at the Chinese takeout restaurant. I used the advice from several reviews to aid in my preparation; but overall this recipe was very easy to use. I was successful on my first batch, which is saying a lot since I don’t often get it right first. Using a glove to shape the cookies was helpful, and beating the eggs until frothy was very important in making the cookies not too chewy. I tried parchment paper on the first batch and they were hard to scoop off of the paper; so on the next try I sprayed a little cooking spray onto the paper. Although it was a little more tedious shaping the batter into pancakes, they scooped off so easily and made it easy to do 3 or more at a time. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thank you Aleta and all reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I absolutely love this recipe, and I have even posted another Fortune Cookie recipe on this site, as it was always my favorite, until now! This recipe is just like the Fortune Cookies you get in a Chinese restaurant. The thing I like most about this recipe in comparison to my other recipe, is that my other one calls for butter and yes, it does enhance the taste and yes, I will continue to use this recipe when I mold the cookies into other shapes (logs, bowls...) because the butter makes such a tasty cookie, BUT I have now, officially adopted THIS recipe when I want to put in the fortunes, because these don't put the grease spots on my paper fortune like the recipe with butter. And no matter how I tried, I could never get around those butter/grease marks. The key to this recipe is to make sure you make each circle VERY thin before baking to prevent a soft pancake-like center. Follow the rest of the directions closely and you will have successful fortune cookies for your special event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYCAKES291

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
This is a great recipe, thanks for sharing! Here are a few tips... I made the recipe as stated but added 2Tablespoons of melted butter. The batter thickens as it sets but that is ok. I made a template by cutting a 3" diameter circle from a peice of plastic (like a butter bowl lid). They key to these turning out correctly is 1- the whiping of the egg, and 2- keeping them thin. I used parchment paper on my cookie sheets and did not grease it. Make sure you whip the egg ad vanilla until it is very frothly but not stiff peaks. Using an offset icing spatula really helped in spreading the batter in the template circle and getting it smooth and thin. I baked about 5 minutes then pulled them out (I was able to do 3 per sheet), using a heavy duty hot glove and a long icing spatula I managed to fold the cookie with the spatula, touch with gloved hand and pick it up and bend over a coffee cup rim. The regular standard mufin pan helped keep their shape until they cooled. I made 3 batches, the first turned out great, the second turned out chewy - then I figured out it was the whipping of the egg that I did not get stiff enough so I tried it again and it worked out great. Hopefully the kids and the teacher will enjoy these as much as I did making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States