Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I made these today for an asian themed dinner party and was really nervous about them being a total bust, but they turned out really well. I would suggest thinning the batter with a bit of water because my early cookies were too thick and never really got your typical fortune cookie crispiness. Other than that, this recipe worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Such an easy recipe! I used my Silpat when making this recipe and had no problems with sticking at all. It saved time, too, since I didn't have to spray the cookie sheet. I doubled the recipe, but I found that it made about 10 cookies, which was perfect for what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
These didn't work out at all for me. Tried them twice, can't figure out what goes wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi from SoCo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
i consider myself to be a pretty decent baker, but i can not figure out what went wrong with this recipe! i thought they'd come out thin, but they puffed up in the oven, & i couldn't flatten them out. they didn't spread when baked, so they were the same size when they came out, as when i put them into the oven, & they broke while we shaped them. they do taste all right, & from a distance, look good too. but when you pick them up, you can see the cracks from folding them. next year will look for a new recipe -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I have never considered making fortune cookies but decided it would be a fun way to announce our coming addition. So I braved the looming possible results and after I realized that you fold them with the underside in, they turned out great. Also, I took the advice of other reviewers and added a small amount of water to get a pancake batter consistency. Worked out awesome! I will put them back into the muffin pan to crisp if they don't on there own by saturday. Also, if you like your cookies with both ends touching like I do, use the first couple of open ended oops ones and when you get the latter ones folded put the ends into the open ended cookies to keep them together until the harden enough to set in their own. But super excited it worked and also to see the reaction of our family at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I made about 4 different batches. I used less sugar as I found that a batter than was thinner worked better. But a great tip I figured out was this....use an egg carton(usually the one you are taking your eggs out of) and when you quickly shape the cookie over the edge of the measuring cup, pop it quickly points down into a spot in the egg carton and it firms up perfectly and gives you the time you need to shape the next one before it cools on the pan. The process was much quicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
With few modifications -- these turned out GREAT! And were a hit at the office. My suggestions from original recipe are to: 1) only use 2 TBS of sugar; 2) add 1/2 TBS of water to egg/vanilla; 3) do not use butter on pan, but do spray with PAM, wiping off excess between each batch. I get about 12 cookies with one batch of batter. Use gloves for handling the cookies when they come out of the oven for shaping. Only bake 4 at a time for 4 min. at 350 deg. A tip for shaping is as soon as these come out of oven, use spatula to remove from pan and place in gloved palm of hand. WORK QUICKLY by using handle of spatula and press into the cookie / palm to make crease, so cookie resembles a "taco shell", resulting in half-moon shape with open top. Place fortune inside. Finish pinching outside edges together to form half moon (your cookie should look like a taco shell with the edges pinched together). Using the edge of the hot baking sheet, place the "taco shell" flat edge (bottom of the cookie) on the hot baking pan edge and gently pull the pointed edges down. The hot pan assists in helping to form the "crease" that is characteristic of the fortune cookie. I live in Florida and the humidity is very high, thus causing the cookies to be rather limp, moist and way too chewy. So if this happens to you, I suggest allowing cookies to cool for an hour or overnight. Then, return all of the cookies to a baking sheet, bake at 200 deg for a total of 28 min. (turning them after 7 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I added 1 Tbsp water, which thinned these perfectly. I also added 1/2 tsp almond extract, though next time I am going to try to add about the same of lemon, as the fortune cookies I really like have that lemony hint. I would also reduce the sugar to 2 Tbsp. My last batch, I was making for the kids to just eat and I poured the batter into a cookie sheet and cooked it in a big pancake. I flipped it out on the cutting board and used 4" cookie cutter to cut rounds. They made the most gorgeous looking cookies of all! Plus, if you are inserting fortunes, the scraps make good snacks for the kids and you don't have to let them have full-made cookies that you work so hard to make for the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I was so excited to find this recipe. I doubled the recipe and added a few TBL water and a bit of oil to the batter.The hardest part at first was shaping it so I devised this method after a few tries: I placed a kitchen towel on the table and on top of it a piece of wax/baking paper. Then I placed the flat cookie hot out of the oven on it, inserted fortune and quickly sealed it(keeping my hands on opposite side of towel) and placed in muffin pan to cool. Give yourself a couple hours for this since you can only make about 2-3 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shabbos Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
These actually came out great. I followed a previous user's suggestion and added 2 teaspoons of water to the batter, but the rest of the recipe I kept the same. I found it difficult to evenly cook the cookies though, so I let the batter spread to larger circles than the finished product, and when I removed them from the oven, I used a round cookie cutter to cut out a circle from the center that was not burned or overly brown (I picked a cutter that would make my cookies the size of a store bought fortune cookie). This worked absolutely perfectly. I also recommend following other users suggestions and making the circles as thin as possible. I made one that was too thick and it turned into a soft cookie instead of a crunchy fortune cookie (even when shaped as a fortune cookie it still never became crunchy). My guests were all thoroughly impressed and every one of them thought they looked and tasted authentic. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States