Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Make it as written!!! I tried a previous review of half the sugar and 1T water - yuck. They were so rubbery. As for technique, this is how I did it and they were easy to work with Silpat mats rubbed with butter and placed on heavy cookie sheets. Batter spread thin, baked in my convection oven at 400F for 6 1/2 minutes or until you get the right color. Take the sheet out the oven, flip the cookie BACK ONTO THE MAT, add fortune, fold in half and drape over glass. (Keeping the mat on the sheet keeps the cookies hot and pliable to fold in half even as you work with them. Take the mat off the sheet and wave it around to cool it down (if you don't do this the next batch will start to cook on the mat and be hard to spread and a grainy texture), place mat on counter (NOT on hot cookie sheet), rub with a bit of butter. Spread next batch of cookies. I also found that having two sheets in rotation going into and out the oven every three minutes really cut down on prep time and gave me just enough time to fold 3 cookies and spread three more. What didn't work: parchment paper. Also baking directly on the sheets because my sheets were still too hot by the time I was ready to spread the next batch and they cooked as I was spreading them. Ended up like scrambled eggs. Don't use spray, use butter. Too hard to spread with spray. They need to "grip" the mat not slide around on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I cut the sugar down to 2 tablespoons and didn't add butter because I wanted them crunchy. I also added 2 or 3 teaspoons of water to thin them. I needed 6 cookies, and I burned my first three! I corrected by turning the heat down to 375 and baking two at a time for about 4 minutes . Much better! I ended up with 7 good ones, so I know that the recipe makes closer to 10 when I make them. Be sure to take them out when they are just beginning to get brown around the edges. They firm up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe! its so easy, and so much fun to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akabebi
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
It took me 4 tries bit I finally conquered this cookie!! I wanted a giant version and used a 14x2 round cake pan. What I learned: 400 oven is too hot - lower to 350. VERY generously butter the pan. Use SUPERFINE sugar. Do not OVERBEAT the egg whites - makes the batter too thick. Just loosen them up till a bit frothy. For my cookie, I used 3 egg whites, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp each of vanilla and almond exract, which I beat together. For the perfect color, I added 5 drops yellow and 1 drop red food coloring. I also added 1 tsp cornstarch to the flour and salt. Baked 6 mins and came right off the pan. After I formed the cookie, I turned off the oven and put the cookie back in with the door open to crisp. SUCCESS at last!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Wonderful! These cookies are so much tastier than restaurant Chinese ones. I am 14 and these are so easy to make. Its okay to use 1/4 tsp of vanilla if you over measure by mistake. My only recommendation is: ADD A TABLESPOON OF WATER!! It is completely necessary. If you don't at first, you will quickly. Be quick about folding. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gyoza Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
We tried the recipe and followed the directions exactly. The batter was a bit thick which made the cookies thick. When we folded the cookies they all cracked and were crumbly. Taste was only fair not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
quick, easy, what more could you want in a fortune cookie recipe? I used a spoon to spread the batter out which worked well. You don't need to make it too thin to get a crispy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
yup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Followed the recipe as written and, after many test cookies, created one perfect one. I had not made fortine cookies before, so I had to get used to the technique. I tried to use parchment paper, but found that it was best to butter the pan and spread the batter on it. I can't imagine doing a large number of these without a helper! They sure taste better than store bought fortune cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
i like this recipe and will use it in the future. However, i found them a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States