Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
These cookies were such a pain to make. DEFINITELY add 2T. of water to this recipe, and use the back of a spoon to thinly spread out the batter. Without the water, this recipe was too thick and too sweet. We made 20 cookies total, and each batch turned out differently than the previous one. I had an easier time making a black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Tastewise I'd say these were a 5! It was pretty remarkable how much they resembled storebought, but man were they difficult to work with. First I made then too thin, then I didn't fold them fast enough, (etc). In the end after I doubled the recipe, I only got 6 cookies done with fortunes in them. Fun but hard!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
The batter was too thick for the cookies to be thin enough to fold after they were baked. I added a little water to the second batch and they worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These cookies taste wonderful! I added 2T water to the mix and they made perfect thin circles. I followed the high altitude suggestion and baked at 375 for 7 minutes. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and removed with a well sprayed spatula. I did not turn the cookies over before folding the paper in and found that this helped make them look more authentic; this also seemed to make the cookies more crunchy. They are awesome and my kids keep asking for more! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I didn't add any water to the batter. It's thick, but I just spread it into a circle using a rubber spatula. I also had more luck with using parchment paper (sprayed with a little bit of noon-stick spray) on top of the cookie sheet. It was a little tricky folding them...mine weren't pretty shapes, but they held the pieces of paper ok. The hardest part was thinking of something original to write as a fortune!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
You have got to be kidding. This recipe does not work AT ALL. Too little liquid, and if you add water/oil it works, but they come out CHEWY. Who ever heard of a chewy fortune cookie???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
these looked and tasted very good. it was a little hard to get the little papers out of some of the cookies, but everybody liked them and thought they were cute. don't think we'll be doing this any time soon though because the process was very tedious and time consuming since we could only do about 3 at a time. you really have to work fast with these otherwise the cookie will crack as you're forming it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I have been wanting to try these for some time. This seemed like the simplest recipe, although I had to tweak it a little. I added a little water to thin the batter and baked for 9 minutes at 400F on a GREASED silicon baking sheet. These taste best the browner they get, but are inpossible to fold if they are completely brown. I thought about putting them back into the oven to dry them out. I found another reveiw that said to put them into a 250 oven in the muffin tin for 10 min. I will try this next time. I really want to bake these for xmas cookies, but they are very time-consuming. Be prepared to mess up the first couple batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Loved these, were simple and fast to make once I got the hang of it. Added some water to the batter 1 tsp at a time to make them thin enough to spread by tilting the pan. The circle shapes will NOT come out perfectly circular, but it doesn't matter, once they are folded no one will know (or care). They taste great, and as long as you keep them in an airtight container, they stay crisp for quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
They didn't quite taste or look like the ones you get at Chinese restuarants, but not bad! I still haven't gotten the hang of folding them...it's a lot more difficult than it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States