Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was looking forward to making these so much but was very disappointed. I made the first batch exactly as indicated but the batter was way too thick. I added a couple of tablespoons of water which fixed the consistency but the taste was still off. My second batch I tried with Vanilla but still a no-go. The third batch I tried with Almond & they still didn't taste like fortune cookies. The batter is way too sweet, I should have cut the sugar in 1/2. I only gave this recipe' one star because no matter how I adapted the recipe' these were just no good cookies. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Last year I tested a few different recipes for FC's on this website. They were all delicious, but unique in their own way. This week I used this recipe, and was flabbergasted. I couldn't believe how well they turned out! They are crunchy and not burned. To spread the cookies, I sprayed my cookie sheet with cooking spray, then wiped with a paper towel. I dropped a spoonful on the sheet, then using the back of the spoon I spread it in a circle. It made a, almost perfect, circle, was thin enough to not come out cakey. I repeated the cooking spray & towel wipe for each time I reused the cookie sheet. I also changed the Vanilla to Almond extract. Everything else I did exactly as it says in the recipe. Great taste!!! So excited to whip up a couple batches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
My neice and I tried this 4 different times trying to get the cookies to get flat and pliable. They tasted good but we just could not get them to fold without cracking. We even tried to add water to get them thinner and moved quick while they were hot but no good. Not worth the effort we put into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHABBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
These cookies are DELICIOUS! They were a bit putsy, especially for as few cookies as you get, but they are great for writing your own fortunes! A+ Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fortune Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Absolutely so fun! Used only 2 Tablespoons of sugar and added a Tablespoon and a half of water. As well as Almond flavoring (about the same as vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I've made fortune cookies before that came out better. The paper soaked into the dough and was hard to pull out after it had cooled. Plus the batter ran once it baked so the size changed and they ran into each other. They tasted good though! Kinda like sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Fabulous! We made these for Father's Day and inserted special things the kids love about their dad in the cookies. Great fun, and can't wait to make more custom fortunes! I used parchment paper on a cookie sheet, lightly buttered and had no problem with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
not bad, took the others advice and lessened the sugar to 2 Tbs. and added 1/2 Tbs water--also subbed almond extract for the vanilla. MUCH easier to work with than other recipes I tried, after the tweaking it was a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I made these today for an asian themed dinner party and was really nervous about them being a total bust, but they turned out really well. I would suggest thinning the batter with a bit of water because my early cookies were too thick and never really got your typical fortune cookie crispiness. Other than that, this recipe worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Such an easy recipe! I used my Silpat when making this recipe and had no problems with sticking at all. It saved time, too, since I didn't have to spray the cookie sheet. I doubled the recipe, but I found that it made about 10 cookies, which was perfect for what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States