Fortune Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
These turned out reasonably well. Absolutely add the tablespoon of water. I tried baking on parchment (on the back side of pan) and my cookies wrinkled. Tried non-stick foil. Success! Bonus--Cut the foil into squares and impress your round shape right into the foil. I used the foil over and over, no sticking. I did stick them all back in the oven after it cooled down a bit to finish crisping. Very labor-intensive, but worth it for an occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Taste great! Still trying to get the hang of folding them nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
These fortune cookie recipe is to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
solid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Fun and easy and tastes like it should! I added 1 Tbsp of water to the batter to make a thinner consistancy for spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASANDREAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
While I appreciate the simplicity of the ingredients and ease of preparation, I feel like this recipe was over-simplified. The cookies had the taste of fortune cookies-- mostly. The dough was hard to work with, the edges browned in the oven before the middle was cooked, and they were very hard to form into fortune cookie shape. When done baking, the edges were crispy and the middle was still puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by P.H.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Definitely practice makes perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These tasted great and were fun to make. We made them with Christmas greetings & jokes and put them in our Christmas cookies. They are not quite as crispy as the ones you get in the restaurants. It was much easier to fold them than I thought it would be, but much harder to spread the dough out into a circle than I'd anticipated. The batter is quite sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Make it as written!!! I tried a previous review of half the sugar and 1T water - yuck. They were so rubbery. As for technique, this is how I did it and they were easy to work with Silpat mats rubbed with butter and placed on heavy cookie sheets. Batter spread thin, baked in my convection oven at 400F for 6 1/2 minutes or until you get the right color. Take the sheet out the oven, flip the cookie BACK ONTO THE MAT, add fortune, fold in half and drape over glass. (Keeping the mat on the sheet keeps the cookies hot and pliable to fold in half even as you work with them. Take the mat off the sheet and wave it around to cool it down (if you don't do this the next batch will start to cook on the mat and be hard to spread and a grainy texture), place mat on counter (NOT on hot cookie sheet), rub with a bit of butter. Spread next batch of cookies. I also found that having two sheets in rotation going into and out the oven every three minutes really cut down on prep time and gave me just enough time to fold 3 cookies and spread three more. What didn't work: parchment paper. Also baking directly on the sheets because my sheets were still too hot by the time I was ready to spread the next batch and they cooked as I was spreading them. Ended up like scrambled eggs. Don't use spray, use butter. Too hard to spread with spray. They need to "grip" the mat not slide around on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I cut the sugar down to 2 tablespoons and didn't add butter because I wanted them crunchy. I also added 2 or 3 teaspoons of water to thin them. I needed 6 cookies, and I burned my first three! I corrected by turning the heat down to 375 and baking two at a time for about 4 minutes . Much better! I ended up with 7 good ones, so I know that the recipe makes closer to 10 when I make them. Be sure to take them out when they are just beginning to get brown around the edges. They firm up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States