Forgotten Party Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Great little confection. I made them 3x with lemon, then vanilla, then almond. Almond was the best. The consistency for these when you use your mixer is a thick goo that will litterall stand up when you spoon it on the tray. Generously grease the pan or you'll be screwed. If not stiff enough beat some more and add cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is what we call in my house, "Empty Tomb Cookies." We put these in the oven the night before Easter and then we discuss the Resurrection of Christ and eat our cookies which are empty, just as the tomb was on Easter morn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I actually made this using 75% splenda and 25% real sugar. It turned out great. You can make meringues any flavor. I tried adding cocao powder or cinnamon. they're all very fluffy and filling with melt-in-your-mouth goodness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Forgotten? I spent a tortured night tossing and turning, hearing muffled voices from the oven whispering "we're ready." The insides of the middle cookies on the bottom rack were hollow and gooey (and tasty), but it may have been because I only heated the oven to 350. I made the first sheet with vanilla only and added maple flavor to the rest. It was heavenly. I'll try heating to the correct temperature next time and maybe put some bricks in the oven to slow down the cooling time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I beat the egg whites with the cream of tartar and salt and then add 2/3 cup of sugar gradually until stiff peaks form. I also hide a Hershey's kiss inside the meringue as I drop it onto the cookie sheets and everyone loves the surprise of getting the chocolate in the cookie. These are very sweet, but people tend to like them and they are pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These were perfect! I made them once as is and thought they were a little too sweet, so the next time I put a little more than half a cup of sugar. Everyone in the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
My grandmother called these snowdrop cookies because they melt in your mouth like snow. If you preheat oven to 400 degrees and drop temp to 200 degrees when you put the cookies in, they will be done in two hours. Remember to make them small as they are very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralie1978

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I halved this recipe so as not to have so many. I made about 2 dozen bite sized cookies. These are wonderful-mine tasted like roasted marshmellows! I set my oven to 400, turned it to 200 when I put the cookies in, and then turned the heat off after an hour. I pulled them out of the oven about an hour after that and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
These cookies were awesome. The only issue I had was that I could not stop eating them!! All my cookies had a large air pocket in them, not sure if I did something wrong or if they are suppose to be that way. I also had lot more cookies than the recipe states it makes. It is best to cook them on the non stick aluminum foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These are so good. I made them twice in one weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States