Forgotten Party Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I baked this with mini chips and almond extract. I also tried preheating the oven to 400, putting the meringues in and lowering the temp to 200 for an hour as other reviews suggested. They were done a lot sooner, and no problems with stickiness or gooey-ness that others mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is to "LillysMom". I've made these in a lot of flavors, My favorite is with vanilla and almond together. Here is my hint. Try baking them on parchment. No sticking problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
The cooking method did not work for my cookies. I followed the directions exactly but apparently my oven cooled off too fast. I will be trying this again following some of the other suggestions on how to cook. I added nuts and spices to my recipe. Some reviews say these are too sweet but I did not find that to be true in this case. The taste was fine but the bottom did not crisp up, it was just gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made these last night using the method for the quick timing. I preheated the oven to 400 and then turned down to 200 when I put the cookies in. Baked 1 hour and then left them in the turned off oven for 1 more hour. I piped this goodness onto the Pam sprayed cookie sheet, some with a maraschino cherry and others plain. I prefer the plain ones. For a NON-FAT recipe, I'll be making this again. It comes together so quickly and reminds me of cotton candy. I did use good vanilla but I might try another flavoring some day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I didn't think I had gotten the meringue stiff enough, but I was using a hand mixer and got tired, so I dropped them anyway. They turned out perfectly! I used almond extract, which I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
These are just too good! Addictive even!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I make these every Christmas. I got the recipe years ago from my mother-in-law, but she puts 1 cup of semi-sweet chips and 1 cup of finely chopped pecans to the meringue. Just fold them in gently before dropping small teaspoonfuls of the meringue on a foil-lined cookie sheet. The next day they easily peel off the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Well you HAVE to put chocolate chips in them!!! And true, don't make them too big, they are very sweet. I may try reducing the sugar, never knew they would still work without! These are always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Yummy!!!! I whipped my (room temp.) eggwhites with the cream of tartar. I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla. I preheated my oven to 400 degrees and left the "cookies" in overnight. They were a little gooey, so I preheated the oven to 400, turned it off, and put the cookies back in for 2 hours. They came out crunchy and awesome! Store in a airtight container. Will make many times again, and will try other extracts like almond and coconut. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Simple and wonderful cookies. These were easy to make and turned out perfect. I made my first batch with rum extract and mini chocolate chips. I think my next batch will be peppermint with chocolate chips. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States