Forgotten Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I love these! If they come out and are still a little sticky, you can put them in the pre-heated oven again until they are as crisp as you'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A BEATER--DO NOT GO PAST THIS RECIPE! I made these cookies ENTIRELY by hand with a whisk. It's a bit of work but they're worth it! The trick is to ensure the whites are room temperature, the bowl is clean (and preferably metal, copper is best), and a drop of vinegar or cream of tartar will help the whites' reaction immensely. Good luck! I made these with finely crushed candy cane as per Homermc's direction. Probably only added about a quarter cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Great! Just like grandma used to make them!!! I added the 1/4 tsp of cream of tartar, a little more than 1/4 cup sugar, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, and 1 cup chopped peppermints. Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SStephan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I have used this recipe for years. Only use when it is not humid. Make sure bowl and beaters are grease free or egg whites do not beat up stiff. Make sure egg whites are at room temperature. I add 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar which helps make them crisp. I let them cook about 5 minutes before turning off oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I screwed this one up good. Mine came out really, really soupy, as I wasn't sure what I was looking for when mixing till "stiff". I will try this one again but beat with a mixer until it thickens like it is supposed to (as I read on another Web site, the egg mixture should not slip and slide when tilting the bowl. Also, I will wait 20 mins to use eggs after taking eggs out of the fridge). What I had did taste good though, which is why I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
My mother and her mother made these cookies at Christmas and these additions make them 5 STARS!!! Add 1 cup rice krispies cereal, 1 cup shredded coconut, and 1 cup chocolate chips to meringue mixture and then follow baking instructions. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Almost effortless cookie-making. Try adding crushed candy canes for a festive holiday cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Just like mom and I used to make as a kid. One suggestion, we always used mini chocolate chips - they seem to almost float in these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've been making this recipe for over 20 years. I recently learning you can keep the oven on at 150 degrees and bake for 2 hours to hurry up the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Great recipe, use 10X powdered sugar, and mini-chocolate chips, not great in high humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States