Forfar Bridies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SuziHockey8
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I had had Bridies for the first time at a celtic festival I attended about 8 years ago. I found and prepared this recipe and was very pleased with how easy it was, and that it tasted just like the Bridies I'd had at that festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziHockey8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
realy realy good lol, my boy friend argued that it was a spanish dish, witch their might be a smiler recipe but i won ^__^ pulled the recipe up on the comp and showed him! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I pretty well followed the recipe EXCEPT I put everything into one pie shell and baked it a little longer. I just didn't have time to make the individual turnovers. However, I will make this again and shape them according to the recipe. I couldn't resist adding some diced potato, carrot and tomato to the pan, to put some veggies and color into the dish. It made an excellent meat pie. Well worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My whole family loved it! My kids ask me to make it again! I used flattened refrigerator biscuits. I used the egg white to seal and pressed a fork in to the edges. I made 3 dozen. Reheated nicely in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is a 5 star with a few additions, imo. I used very thinly sliced beef steak instead of ground lamb (personal preference). Added an extra dash of worstcheshire. I made a roux with flour and water to add to the pan while cooking the onions to thicken the runny juices into more of a light gravy. We had a large baked potato left over from the previous nights dinner so I peeled and chopped that up into a small dice to throw in - not very traditional though. Last but not least, I used the 'Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust' from this site to wrap the filling in as I'm more of a from scratch kinda girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband comes from a small village in Scotland and says these are just like the local baker made when he was a child. Excellent! The only change I made was to use puff pastry (for authenticity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My Irish Mom (by way of London) used to feed us bridies all the time, from Winston's on 63rd St. Love them so! I think I'll try them puff pastry, as the pastry is so flaky, and use pork or beef, or a mix, for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annk5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Where I'm from, we use venison instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made these but added more W sauce....made them for a Burns party and never saw them fly so fast of a plate before. Hubby loved them with brown sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I used hamburger instead of lamb as it is hard to find in my area- and I rolled out Rhodes frozen roll dough because I needed to use it, I will definetly make these again, they are similar to Runzas, probably because of my substitutions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States