Forfar Bridies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband comes from a small village in Scotland and says these are just like the local baker made when he was a child. Excellent! The only change I made was to use puff pastry (for authenticity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is a 5 star with a few additions, imo. I used very thinly sliced beef steak instead of ground lamb (personal preference). Added an extra dash of worstcheshire. I made a roux with flour and water to add to the pan while cooking the onions to thicken the runny juices into more of a light gravy. We had a large baked potato left over from the previous nights dinner so I peeled and chopped that up into a small dice to throw in - not very traditional though. Last but not least, I used the 'Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust' from this site to wrap the filling in as I'm more of a from scratch kinda girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Very tasty. Will make these again. Make sure to follow the directions to let the cooked meat cool, before trying to put it inside the pastry to bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My whole family loved it! My kids ask me to make it again! I used flattened refrigerator biscuits. I used the egg white to seal and pressed a fork in to the edges. I made 3 dozen. Reheated nicely in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuziHockey8
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I had had Bridies for the first time at a celtic festival I attended about 8 years ago. I found and prepared this recipe and was very pleased with how easy it was, and that it tasted just like the Bridies I'd had at that festival!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziHockey8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These were good and easy to make. I used frozen pie crusts to cut down on the prep. time and added a bit more broth. I would make these again, although I'll probably play around with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I pretty well followed the recipe EXCEPT I put everything into one pie shell and baked it a little longer. I just didn't have time to make the individual turnovers. However, I will make this again and shape them according to the recipe. I couldn't resist adding some diced potato, carrot and tomato to the pan, to put some veggies and color into the dish. It made an excellent meat pie. Well worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Good stuff! Maybe add a little more broth so it's not so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Really good. I will be making this again. I did alter it slightly by adding one potato, cut into small cubes, and because I didn't have any beef broth I added a little water and extra worcestershire sauce. Because I didn't want to take forever in the kitchen, I only divided my crust into two different rounds. I even got the kids to eat it, which is no small feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Very time consuming but the finished meal was worth it. I added some vegetables to the meat so it was not all meat. I would definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States