Forfar Bridies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
As written, the lamb is a bit heavy and fatty to me. Perhaps its more traditional, but I prefer this made with ground turkey or beef. However, the great thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. It's an odds and ends meal, and one I make at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Where I'm from, we use venison instead of lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used ground beef and browned the onions with the beef. We all thought these were very tasty. They even heated up well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My Irish Mom (by way of London) used to feed us bridies all the time, from Winston's on 63rd St. Love them so! I think I'll try them puff pastry, as the pastry is so flaky, and use pork or beef, or a mix, for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annk5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Very tasty. Will make these again. Make sure to follow the directions to let the cooked meat cool, before trying to put it inside the pastry to bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband comes from a small village in Scotland and says these are just like the local baker made when he was a child. Excellent! The only change I made was to use puff pastry (for authenticity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is a 5 star with a few additions, imo. I used very thinly sliced beef steak instead of ground lamb (personal preference). Added an extra dash of worstcheshire. I made a roux with flour and water to add to the pan while cooking the onions to thicken the runny juices into more of a light gravy. We had a large baked potato left over from the previous nights dinner so I peeled and chopped that up into a small dice to throw in - not very traditional though. Last but not least, I used the 'Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust' from this site to wrap the filling in as I'm more of a from scratch kinda girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Really good. I will be making this again. I did alter it slightly by adding one potato, cut into small cubes, and because I didn't have any beef broth I added a little water and extra worcestershire sauce. Because I didn't want to take forever in the kitchen, I only divided my crust into two different rounds. I even got the kids to eat it, which is no small feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My whole family loved it! My kids ask me to make it again! I used flattened refrigerator biscuits. I used the egg white to seal and pressed a fork in to the edges. I made 3 dozen. Reheated nicely in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I pretty well followed the recipe EXCEPT I put everything into one pie shell and baked it a little longer. I just didn't have time to make the individual turnovers. However, I will make this again and shape them according to the recipe. I couldn't resist adding some diced potato, carrot and tomato to the pan, to put some veggies and color into the dish. It made an excellent meat pie. Well worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States