Forfar Bridies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I used ground beef and browned the onions with the beef. We all thought these were very tasty. They even heated up well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My Irish Mom (by way of London) used to feed us bridies all the time, from Winston's on 63rd St. Love them so! I think I'll try them puff pastry, as the pastry is so flaky, and use pork or beef, or a mix, for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annk5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Very tasty. Will make these again. Make sure to follow the directions to let the cooked meat cool, before trying to put it inside the pastry to bake it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My husband comes from a small village in Scotland and says these are just like the local baker made when he was a child. Excellent! The only change I made was to use puff pastry (for authenticity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is a 5 star with a few additions, imo. I used very thinly sliced beef steak instead of ground lamb (personal preference). Added an extra dash of worstcheshire. I made a roux with flour and water to add to the pan while cooking the onions to thicken the runny juices into more of a light gravy. We had a large baked potato left over from the previous nights dinner so I peeled and chopped that up into a small dice to throw in - not very traditional though. Last but not least, I used the 'Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust' from this site to wrap the filling in as I'm more of a from scratch kinda girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Really good. I will be making this again. I did alter it slightly by adding one potato, cut into small cubes, and because I didn't have any beef broth I added a little water and extra worcestershire sauce. Because I didn't want to take forever in the kitchen, I only divided my crust into two different rounds. I even got the kids to eat it, which is no small feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My whole family loved it! My kids ask me to make it again! I used flattened refrigerator biscuits. I used the egg white to seal and pressed a fork in to the edges. I made 3 dozen. Reheated nicely in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I pretty well followed the recipe EXCEPT I put everything into one pie shell and baked it a little longer. I just didn't have time to make the individual turnovers. However, I will make this again and shape them according to the recipe. I couldn't resist adding some diced potato, carrot and tomato to the pan, to put some veggies and color into the dish. It made an excellent meat pie. Well worth giving it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
realy realy good lol, my boy friend argued that it was a spanish dish, witch their might be a smiler recipe but i won ^__^ pulled the recipe up on the comp and showed him! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
These were good and easy to make. I used frozen pie crusts to cut down on the prep. time and added a bit more broth. I would make these again, although I'll probably play around with the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States