Foreign Devil Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I haven't tried it yet I agree with Bao Le -- the description is wonderful. And let's hear it for tamari -- so glad the recipe inventor encourages people to accept no substitute for it. It costs more than 'regular' soy sauce but you need less of it, and it's SO MUCH better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The recipe footnotes alone are gold. The flavors reach umami-level. Definitely add a bit of chili paste and cashews, etc... for a exceptional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Just made this for the first time. Used refrigerated short grain, worked great. Only have electric top, worked ok. What's up with the bean curd? We halfed it and used 3 sticks, but it still was like... a lot. Maybe our asian market's sticks are bigger than your asian market's sticks (giggity). But seriously they're like 12" long per stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was very good fried rice. I added chicken thighs. It didn't taste quite like restaurant fried rice but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I could eat this every day for the rest of my life, and the description and recipe tips are great. Even though I have an electric stove and used an old heavy-bottomed steel pan, it turned out yummy with lots of great texture and color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydney6681

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Lovely! We're vegetarian (no eggs) so I made some "scrambled tofu" instead and added that. About the bean curd sticks (also called yuba), dried mushrooms etc... We can buy them in the Asian food aisle of Walmart, of all places! But maybe only here in Hawaii...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
WELL DONE! THANK YOU! The perfect basic fried rice recipe, starting with the perfect rice. Add whatever you like and it can be a new experience everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hippiedave
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I have always wanted to make fried rice and this was delicious. I could not find the mushrooms or preserved salted black beans but I found every thing else. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is the best recipe description that I've ever seen. I rate this 1 million billion stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I love to read recipes/books-yep I'm a little different! I have made many recipes from this sight and this is got to be the best written instructions and footnotes I have come across. This individual should write a cook book. Will be definitely making this in the near future, can't wait to visit Uwajimaya's in Seattle to find all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldelaune

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Enumclaw, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States