Foreign Devil Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This is a terrific recipe! It takes a trip to the Asian market to get some of the ingredients, but the flavor they add are worth the trouble. I added chicken to the recipe and plan to make it again with shrimp. The quantities that I had to buy the Asian ingredients in will make the recipe at least two, maybe three, more times. All in all, it is a very economical meal. The amount of garlic looked like too much to me, so I just did 2 1/2 tbsp., but I'm sure it would have been fine with 4. The fresh ginger tastes so good in this recipe. Leftovers are just as good as fresh! I want to use this for company sometime, and have all the chopping done early and throw it together when they arrive. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
FIRST OF ALL JUST WANTED TO LET YOU KNOW THIS RECIPE IS PROBABLY THE EASIEST, MOST USER FRIENDLY RECIPE I HAVE EVER USED. NOT ONLY IS IT EASY TO UNDERSTAND, IT BROUGHT A SMILE TO MY FACE THE FIRST TIME I READ IT BECAUSE EVERYTHING IS SPELLED OUT!! GREAT RECIPE - WOULDN'T CHANGE A THING! GOOD JOB...LOOKING FOR MORE OF YOUR INTERESTINGLY TASTY CREATIONS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
That previous review was not accurate. This recipe does not take long to cook, unless you plan to get in and out of the kitchen in 5 mins. Then you might consider heating up some frozen box thing. This recipe was quick to make, easy, and tasted great. I would enjoy more authetic Chinese cooking tips and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have not even made this, but I just thought the recipe description was so funny, it deserved 5 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
First off, let me just say how nice it is to see a real recipe here and not “Aunt Thelma’s Mayo Cheese Cake Mix Biscuits”. This recipe is GREAT. This was my first successful foray into Chinese cooking at home, and mostly thanks to all of the in depth technique notes (keeping the wok very very hot, etc.), it came out beautifully. I made a few substitutions: I swapped the dried bean curd out for hickory smoked tofu marinated in tamari, brown sugar, black pepper, and cayenne pepper. I also added in the highly recommended preserved black beans, and they were amazing as promised. Also, I did not have enough fresh ginger or garlic on hand, but the recipe came out okay with 3T of garlic and 2T of ginger. All in all a great recipe, my boyfriend and I loved it, and there are PLENTY of leftovers! I think that next time I make it, I'll want a little drizzle of sweet sauce (like a plum wine reduction or something) to set off the savory, lightly caramelized flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENHERE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Best set of stir-frying instructions I've ever seen. And great guidance on ingredients. We agreed that this is the most successful stir-fried dinner I've made. I added snow peas (instead of peas) and broccoli, putting them in first to cook. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Lemme guess-English major? :o) This tasted so yummy! I, unfortunately, have an electric stove but it still turned out fantastic. Who would have thought I'd ever like something with bean curd in it?! Thank you for the entertaining recipe directions and thank you for the delicious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I'm pre-rating this recipes, because it sounds so wonderful! I'm having trouble coming up with some of the ingredients. Is Shredded Black fungus the same as Shredded black Mushroom?? Are dried bean curd sticks the same as bean threads?? Help! I'm desperately trying to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISTINA47454

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I love this recipe! It makes a ton of food, so I had plenty to much on for several days. It reheated very well. I've also had a lot of fun experimenting with the ingredients, depending on what I find in my grocery store. I never leave out the ginger, though -- that really gives this dish a great kick. I do wind up using every bowl in my kitchen whenever I make it, but that bit of mess is totally worth it for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This was really, really, REALLY good. I made it for my boyfriend and myself, and we practically ate the whole six servings at once! I have an electric stove, and my wok pan was a little small, but it still tasted good and BTW the directions for cooking the basmati made it come out PERFECT! The instructions are wonderful and make this a very easy recipe to follow. I found that you do use a lot of dishes but if you just make a small attempt at putting the dirty ones in the DW as you use them, the kitchen is pretty clean when you are done! And I am one messy cook...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States