Football Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was delicious!! I ended up having to make 2 over the weekend. The only thing I did different was added more green onions since my friends and I are all lovers of them. I had to give this recipe out 3 different times. It was simple because I had all ingredients on hand. I will be making this cheese ball over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanaDurdin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I was torn between a four or a five for this recipe. I opted to give it a four because I felt that several important factors were missing from the recipe as written. The taco seasoning should be held until the end to add the nice football color. If you look at the photo that I submitted, you will see the pasty color under the sprinkled taco areas on my "ball." I was afraid to sprinkle too much on top of it because of other reviewers who complained of the taco seasoning's over-powering taste. This would have been much more presentable had I used the taco seasoning to color the ball instead of mixing it in with the cheese. Also, the taste was SO much better the following day after spending some quality time in the fridge. I will make this again, but I will make it at least a day ahead of time and I will sprinkle the taco seasoning on at the end to give it a nice "football" color. The color of it as written is terrible, but my hopes are high for a better next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and agree that the taco seasoning was overpowering. The second time, I cut the seasoning from 6 tsp to 4 tsp and used a heaping cup of cheddar. I also added more Worcestershire sauce because my first football was albino! It was much better the second time, and I got compliments for presentation at a work potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The football shape was ideal for super bowl. I didn't use the taco seasning but maybe next time I will try it. Instead of using nuts to cover the ball I crumbled bacon so it would be a "pigskin cheese ball."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was a fun addition to our tailgate the other day. Next time, though, I will not use so much taco seasoning and will add more cheddar cheese. It was very good, though, and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Good taste and good idea. I am not the best at making a ball of cheese look like a football I have found. I attempte the crumbles bacon for the outer layer but that was going to take a TON of bacon and I didn't have much on hand. I tried leaving the taco seasoning on the outside, but if you plan to wrap the ball up and tote it anywhere, the seasoning either sinks into the cheese or gets stuck on the plastic wrap and you have a really strange colored football. My advice: bring the taco seasoning with you and sprinkle it on once you get to yur destination. The cheese slices for laces turned out well. Despite the appearance of MY football, half of it was gone by the end of the game so that earns it 4 stars. Had all of it been eaten like most appetizers I bring, it would have recieved 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very simple to make and the shape of a football was a terrific idea. My husband and I both love spicey foods, so the amount of taco seasoning was fine for us. I added my own touches, however. I prefer Colby/Monterey Jack cheese to cheddar. Then I rolled the ball in bacon bits for a bit more flavor. Finally, I placed it on a bed of parsley to give it a football field look. Turned out great! I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMYRICHARDSON25
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
this was totally my error. The taco spice is to color the football only. Sorry for any lackluster cheese balls because of my flaky directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love the idea, but it was a little too heavy on the taco seasoning for my tastes, and not enough shredded cheese. I think this would be good for a Mexican themed tailgate though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXAS7127

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by valeriaaa
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
this tastes sooo good! i'm about to bring it to a superbowl party and i'm very excited. however, i wouldn't mix in too much taco seasoning, but save it for last: just shape your mix into the football, and then put taco seasoning all over it for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States