Football Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was delicious!! I ended up having to make 2 over the weekend. The only thing I did different was added more green onions since my friends and I are all lovers of them. I had to give this recipe out 3 different times. It was simple because I had all ingredients on hand. I will be making this cheese ball over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanaDurdin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was soooo yummy. I shaped it like a regular ball though. It was the first cheese ball I had ever made. again......Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I have never made a cheese ball before.. this was very easy to make and the guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahSmile
Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love the idea, but it was a little too heavy on the taco seasoning for my tastes, and not enough shredded cheese. I think this would be good for a Mexican themed tailgate though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXAS7127

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and agree that the taco seasoning was overpowering. The second time, I cut the seasoning from 6 tsp to 4 tsp and used a heaping cup of cheddar. I also added more Worcestershire sauce because my first football was albino! It was much better the second time, and I got compliments for presentation at a work potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was a fun addition to our tailgate the other day. Next time, though, I will not use so much taco seasoning and will add more cheddar cheese. It was very good, though, and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I just made this for our superbowl party because I liked the idea of a football cheeseball. I find that the taste of the worcestshire sauce overpowers it. I like spicy food so the taco seasoning doesn't bother me. Maybe after it sits in the fridge for a while the flavors will bind together more. If there is any difference I will review again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this cheeseball for our SuperBowl party because I too thought a football shaped cheeseball would add some fun. I followed the recipe exactly except I reduced the taco seasonings to 4 tsp and I rolled it in pecans. I rolled it in pecans because it did not have the color I was looking for, but the pecans added some nice crunch to the cheese spread. As far as taste, I thought it was good, but not exceptional. I will probably take the shaping idea of the football and use a different cheeseball recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very simple to make and the shape of a football was a terrific idea. My husband and I both love spicey foods, so the amount of taco seasoning was fine for us. I added my own touches, however. I prefer Colby/Monterey Jack cheese to cheddar. Then I rolled the ball in bacon bits for a bit more flavor. Finally, I placed it on a bed of parsley to give it a football field look. Turned out great! I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The football shape was ideal for super bowl. I didn't use the taco seasning but maybe next time I will try it. Instead of using nuts to cover the ball I crumbled bacon so it would be a "pigskin cheese ball."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States