Football Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was delicious!! I ended up having to make 2 over the weekend. The only thing I did different was added more green onions since my friends and I are all lovers of them. I had to give this recipe out 3 different times. It was simple because I had all ingredients on hand. I will be making this cheese ball over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShanaDurdin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This was soooo yummy. I shaped it like a regular ball though. It was the first cheese ball I had ever made. again......Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I have never made a cheese ball before.. this was very easy to make and the guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahSmile
Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love the idea, but it was a little too heavy on the taco seasoning for my tastes, and not enough shredded cheese. I think this would be good for a Mexican themed tailgate though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXAS7127

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and agree that the taco seasoning was overpowering. The second time, I cut the seasoning from 6 tsp to 4 tsp and used a heaping cup of cheddar. I also added more Worcestershire sauce because my first football was albino! It was much better the second time, and I got compliments for presentation at a work potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was a fun addition to our tailgate the other day. Next time, though, I will not use so much taco seasoning and will add more cheddar cheese. It was very good, though, and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I just made this for our superbowl party because I liked the idea of a football cheeseball. I find that the taste of the worcestshire sauce overpowers it. I like spicy food so the taco seasoning doesn't bother me. Maybe after it sits in the fridge for a while the flavors will bind together more. If there is any difference I will review again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this cheeseball for our SuperBowl party because I too thought a football shaped cheeseball would add some fun. I followed the recipe exactly except I reduced the taco seasonings to 4 tsp and I rolled it in pecans. I rolled it in pecans because it did not have the color I was looking for, but the pecans added some nice crunch to the cheese spread. As far as taste, I thought it was good, but not exceptional. I will probably take the shaping idea of the football and use a different cheeseball recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very simple to make and the shape of a football was a terrific idea. My husband and I both love spicey foods, so the amount of taco seasoning was fine for us. I added my own touches, however. I prefer Colby/Monterey Jack cheese to cheddar. Then I rolled the ball in bacon bits for a bit more flavor. Finally, I placed it on a bed of parsley to give it a football field look. Turned out great! I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The football shape was ideal for super bowl. I didn't use the taco seasning but maybe next time I will try it. Instead of using nuts to cover the ball I crumbled bacon so it would be a "pigskin cheese ball."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States