Football Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by AMYRICHARDSON25
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
this was totally my error. The taco spice is to color the football only. Sorry for any lackluster cheese balls because of my flaky directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
It hit the spot and was a tasty snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I was torn between a four or a five for this recipe. I opted to give it a four because I felt that several important factors were missing from the recipe as written. The taco seasoning should be held until the end to add the nice football color. If you look at the photo that I submitted, you will see the pasty color under the sprinkled taco areas on my "ball." I was afraid to sprinkle too much on top of it because of other reviewers who complained of the taco seasoning's over-powering taste. This would have been much more presentable had I used the taco seasoning to color the ball instead of mixing it in with the cheese. Also, the taste was SO much better the following day after spending some quality time in the fridge. I will make this again, but I will make it at least a day ahead of time and I will sprinkle the taco seasoning on at the end to give it a nice "football" color. The color of it as written is terrible, but my hopes are high for a better next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
AMAZING!!! I made this for a Super Bowl party and it was perfect! I added a lot of extra cheddar cheese and only used 4tsp of taco seasoning. I also toasted and crushed some walnuts and added them to the top and sides of the football. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookink8e
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val Timin
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
this tastes sooo good! i'm about to bring it to a superbowl party and i'm very excited. however, i wouldn't mix in too much taco seasoning, but save it for last: just shape your mix into the football, and then put taco seasoning all over it for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Timin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The football shape was ideal for super bowl. I didn't use the taco seasning but maybe next time I will try it. Instead of using nuts to cover the ball I crumbled bacon so it would be a "pigskin cheese ball."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very simple to make and the shape of a football was a terrific idea. My husband and I both love spicey foods, so the amount of taco seasoning was fine for us. I added my own touches, however. I prefer Colby/Monterey Jack cheese to cheddar. Then I rolled the ball in bacon bits for a bit more flavor. Finally, I placed it on a bed of parsley to give it a football field look. Turned out great! I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamortiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this cheeseball for our SuperBowl party because I too thought a football shaped cheeseball would add some fun. I followed the recipe exactly except I reduced the taco seasonings to 4 tsp and I rolled it in pecans. I rolled it in pecans because it did not have the color I was looking for, but the pecans added some nice crunch to the cheese spread. As far as taste, I thought it was good, but not exceptional. I will probably take the shaping idea of the football and use a different cheeseball recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I just made this for our superbowl party because I liked the idea of a football cheeseball. I find that the taste of the worcestshire sauce overpowers it. I like spicy food so the taco seasoning doesn't bother me. Maybe after it sits in the fridge for a while the flavors will bind together more. If there is any difference I will review again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was a fun addition to our tailgate the other day. Next time, though, I will not use so much taco seasoning and will add more cheddar cheese. It was very good, though, and everyone seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States