Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have never made a rib roast before, and was a little worried about ruining a good piece of meat. The reviews sold me on this recipe and it did not disappoint! Follow the directions and the meat will be perfect! I did splurge and buy a digital thermometer / probe (one that has an external display)-- I would highly recommend that you do that. It beeped when the meat temperature got to 145 and 10 minutes later, the knife just slid through the beautiful medium rare beef! I did put the rub on the night before and put it in a zip lock bag in the refrigerator. I used Rosemary, Montreal steak spice and garlic. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I think it will be a Christmas tradition from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe came out phenomenal. Would do it again and again, it's that good and that easy. The only drawback is that your oven is tied up for approx. 4 1/2 to 5 hrs. Pouring liquid into the roasting pan is a no no as this constitutes steaming, not roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
DH bet me this couldn't work b/c of the 3 hr @ zero temp. We don't eat rare meat so when the meat came out after the re-heat Looking mostly red, he was gloating. Despite my uncertainty, I sliced and served and guess what: it was out of this world. Though meat was red, it was cooked, not chewy raw. DH had to concede and has requested I NEVER use another recipe--I solemnly swore I will only use this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I tried this method for cooking a 6lb bone-in prime rib roast today and it was RAW after following this to the T. I was very disappointed and embarrassed as I had company for dinner. We ended up cutting the roast into steaks, which was not an easy task considering it was warm and raw, and cooking them on the grill. Of course this made dinner late. I will never cook a prime rib roast like this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Really good an very easy, will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Okay so just what is needed…..yet another person who is now a believer! Yes, the method is terrific. We just finished dinner and everyone loved the Standing Rib Roast. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jhjohnsonjr
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Super simple, but I added a bit of sage to the dry mix and pan seared the roast on all sides. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is the BEST rib roast I have ever had! We used a Hereford 2 bone, 4.8 lb roast, and we used an All-Clad roasting pan with rack. I added a pinch of crumbled, dried rosemary to the rub. The crust was so great that my friends were cutting off the edges. Paired it with Alton brown's horseradish cream…OMG! Only thing is that Paula Deen (not a fan but still) should be given credit, as this recipe was originally posted by her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was the best recipe yet, but I was glad to have a probe thermometer with wire to the outside. After 2 hours standing in closed oven, the internal temp had reached 122*. I cranked oven to 375* to reheat and finish up, and after 15 minutes, the internal temp hit 124*. I pulled it out and let it stand on the counter for 10 minutes covered with foil. By the time we cut into it, the temp had risen to 126* which was PERFECT for us (we like our meat rare). Other recipes that started on a higher initial temp always disappointed us because the meat was too well done on the outside two inches. This turned out perfectly by monitoring the internal temp and believing that it was a true reading. We were cooking a 9.75 lb. roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States