Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! This was my first prime rib and it was AMAZING!! This recipe really is foolproof, just set your timers and forget it! I used a 5lb rib eye roast(boneless). For the final cooking time I did about 45 minutes and it came out a perfect med. rare. I don't think I will ever try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I did two roasts. I originally got a rump but wondered after reading some reviews if it would be good enough to give company so I ended up going back out and getting a rib roast and cooking them both. they were both about 4 lbs. I followed the directions exactly and used the hint another posted about cooking them for well done to 55 minutes on the second cooking time. the rump was done after about 1:20, but the rib roast still wasn't totally well done at 1:40. The rump roast definitely did not compare to the rib as to texture as it was much tougher and less juicy than the rib. The taste of both though was excellent and the rib roast was so juicy. I definitely know which roast I will be going for from now on. I had put about 3 cups of beef broth in the bottom of the pan hoping to have au jus, but it was all gone and all that was left was the fat.our company ended up not coming so guess we will have a lot of leftovers which my husband doesn't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Have to agree with everyone here--this was an incredibly easy recipe that gives amazing results. Roast was moist, flavourful and perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Saunders

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This work perfect, and looks just like the picture when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Simple and so mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I leave out the powdered garlic and poke fresh garlic into the fat before roasting. The chunks of roasted garlic makes for an amazing roast! I serve it with a creamy horseradish sauce, homemade au jus and cabernet wine jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Despite my fears about the cooking method, I tried it and am so glad I did. The whole family raved about how wonderful it turned out! Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was amazing!!! My mother in law was coming to stay for a couple days, so I wanted to cook something nice...and impressive. This made me a little nervous at first, but it turned out perfectly!!! I put it in the oven and then ran errands. We got home later than we had hoped, and the oven was actually off for almost 4 hours-so cooking time 1 hour, rested for 4 and it was still perfect! I didn't have garlic powder, so I rubbed it down first with garlic paste, then rubbed with rosemary, salt and pepper. Will definitely cook it this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Put fresh garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I've cooked with this recipe 3 times over the last 6 months. It has worked each time. Anything smaller will need adjustments in cooking (less time) unless you like shoe leather. I also noticed my True Prime cut was far better than my Prime Select cuts. was it worth the extra $$$? maybe. But I don't always have $22 a pound to get a good true prime cut and only my Father and I noticed the difference (had 2 diff roasts to compare). Other tips: Ask the butcher to cut the ribs and tie them on, makes cutting easier. do NOT cut the fat off till you're ready to serve. If you follow this recipe and you want it "properly cooked" stop cooking 15 degrees BEFORE it reaches that temp. if you never open the door to the oven, it'll keep cooking for another 15+/- degrees. For you 1 star "it failed to hit 130 degrees" reviewers: if you roast never reaches the 130 degrees, something is probably WRONG with your oven. I replaced my original home unit and cooking was like night and day. check the seals on the door. mine was losing heat like crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States