Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Not sure what happened??!!! I read all the reviews and had high hopes. I needed to make dinner sooner than expected so I decided to chance it and took the roast out after sitting in the oven for only 2 hrs.Imagine my SHOCK when it was registering an internal temp of 150?! I just let it be and we ate it like that. It actually wasn't bad at all, but what if i hadn't checked the temp?? it would've burnt to a crisp! Is my oven off? I really have no clue :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I used this for two 3-lb prime rib roasts in the same large roasting pan...on their own racks... and it worked. Our grocery was out of 5-6-lb roasts, so we bought two smaller ones. I cooked for 50 minutes after the gap period to arrive at medium to medium well state. Thanks! I will not be afraid of prime rib again! I rubbed one with the garlic and salt and pepper, and I rubbed another with Namibian barbecue spice. Lovely memory of our year there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larkin Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I did everything wrong and my 10 lb $100 roast still turned out OK. I cooked it at 375 for 1 hour 30 minutes. The internal temp of the meat (left at room temp for 5 hours) was 44 degrees upon starting. After one hour at 375 it was about 88 degrees internally, so I left the oven on longer -- 30 minutes. Then the internal temp was 95. I was concerned. I taped the door shut, turned off the oven and let it sit just under 2 hours. I turned it back on to 375 and it cooked for about 45 minutes. Probe beeper went off at 135 degrees and I took it out. It sat for nearly 1 hour. The inside was still nice and pink but the probe showed that it had climbed to 150 during that one hour. My misstep here was NOT taking it out at 125 degrees. I think that the larger the roast, the more cooking that may occur while sitting. Don't worry though -- my guests gushed about how delicious it was. As I said, it still had some pink (medium) pieces towards the middle, lucky for me, no one wanted rare or even med rare. A keeper recipe for sure! You don't spend that kind of money and mess things up! Highly recommend the temp probe with the external unit showing the meat temp. It would be impossible to see the meat temperature without opening the door with a standard meat thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this yesterday. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Simple prep - nothing to it. 4.6lbs came out perfect exactly as directed. I had to leave it in a bit longer on the reheat with my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My first time making a Rib roast. But I nailed it with this easy receipt. I did cut the time by 40 minutes and I'm glad I did because we like our meat medium rear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carolina Beach, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made it for Christmas exactly like the recipe states, and it was really foolproof! Was medium rare-used a meat thermometer, and it was wonderful-served with a creamy horseradish sauce on AR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I did it! This was my first time cooking a rib roast. Make sure to ask your butcher to "cut and tie" your roast. It makes it easier to cut and serve. I was a little nervous because it was so expensive, but it turned out perfectly! I cooked a 10.67 lb. roast and didn't change the cooking time whatsoever. I did put a little olive oil in my hand and rubbed it all over the roast. I sprinkled kosher salt, pepper & grated 2 cloves of garlic and rubbed that all over. I cooked it for the initial hour, 3 hrs siting in the oven, and 30 minutes upon turning the oven back on. I made au jus from this site called Beef Au Jus from chef John. It was so quick and easy and it was wonderful. Great smell and flavor. Everyone raved about the roast and "gravy". From now on, a standing rib roast for Christmas Dinner will be our new tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I don't normally write reviews but I have to on this one! You really will doubt that the prime rib is cooking but I promise this really works!! I cooked a 13 pound prime rib following these exact instructions and it came out PERFECT!!! I was really worried that it wouldn't come out because it such a large piece of prime rib but it was AMAZING and made for the perfect Christmas dinner! As much as you want to doubt this recipe, don't! You'll be so pleased in the end! Everyone is right, don't open that oven door!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this for Christmas dinner last night and it was absolute perfection. Tender and juicy. Followed recipe exactly. It does not need gravy or au jus. Served with roasted potatoes, squash/apple/cranberry medley, green beans and cherry tomatoes (another allrecipes winner), tortellini (we are italian), rolls, and my husband's famous 'Aunt Jennie's green jello recipe.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States