Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
great results perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I,too, was hesitant to use this recipe. But, my 6.5# roast turned out great. My only glitch was probably my own doing. At the 2.5 hour mark into the 3 hour waiting period, the roast temp had reached 118 degrees. Since I wanted a rare center (125), I got nervous about leaving the roast in the oven since the temp was still climbing. I put the roast back in the oven at the 3 hour mark and turned the oven back on. I cooked the roast for 30 minutes (didn't want to wait any longer, it was time to serve!) and the meat temp was only 119 degrees. The roast turned out just fine with a rare to medium rare center. I probably didn't need to remove the roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was a great recipe. So Simple, So Perfect. I am now officially the Prime Rib cook in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This method was amazing! I made it New Years Eve and it was absolutely delicious! I am so glad I came upon this recipe before I cooked the prime rib roast. I can't wait to try it again!!! ~Patty B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boughgirl07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
It came out far too 'well done'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made this with a family member on Christmas day and it turned out great. We were a little apprehensive about the approach as we had a 9lb roast which cost $$. Needless to say the end result was very good. We followed the directions exactly. It was VERY HARD to not open the oven but willpower prevailed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I was very tentative about using this recipe as I was working with a 12 lb organic rib roast, which was very expensive, as well as using this roast as part of our Christmas dinner. I followed the instructions exactly, and pulled it out at a temp of 135 degrees. I let it sit for fifteen minutes, then we sliced it and it was absolutely PERFECT! I was concerned when we turned the oven back on for the final reheat as the interior temperature was 130 degrees. It took about 40 minutes for the oven to reheat the meat and bring the temp up to 135, which made a lovely medium rare roast. Kudos for a great roasting technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaWickwire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this today for New Years Dinner. Followed this recipe to a T and it was just awesome. I read some of the reviews and took a few suggestions I gave it a olive oil rubdown followed by the spices listed and only used parsley,Montrial seasoning,garlic powder, onion powder. I also used a can of beef broth for au jus. Rubbed it all over the roast and man alive all I got was thumbs up. I did take it out a little early and let it rest for the required time and tented the roast. The only problem is this recipe deserves more than 5 stars. Thank you for a great recipe you will find my copy in the vault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Vande Veire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haledon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Awesome! Used this recipe for 8.3# prime rib. We like our meat medium rare and it turned out perfectly! I did increase the end time to 55 minutes due to size of roast. One of the reviews mentioned that this recipe won't work in a gas oven. NOT true, I have a gas oven. It was a true 'meat feast!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRW
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
The method is great, I didn't season the roast as much as I should have. Next time will season with more garlic and other seasonings...also...put meat thermometer in when I start to bake it....great recipe...I've never cooked prime rib before...I added water to the pan drippings an a little Kitchen Bouquet seasoning to them and it made a wonderfull Au Jus sauce for dipping....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States