Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is perfect!!! Love how it comes out tasting wonderful it melts in your mouth...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made it on Christmas Eve. It was great. Programmed oven to delay start while at Mass and it was done when we got home. I was nervous, but it was the best rib roast ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My first attempt at cooking a 5.3lb prime rib roast. I followed the recipe, tho I mixed in dry mustard & some Italian herbs w/olive oil to smeared onto the meat. I baked it for the required hour @375. I turned off my oven. It's a new oven with a fan that cools it down. I left it closed for 2 1/2 hrs. Shorting the time by 30mn., then turned the oven back to 375 for another 30min. The oven temp screen showed it was currently holding a temp of 160-so new ovens will keep a low temp in spite of the fan.I worried that my small roast, 5.3lbs vs 6lbs & over might wind up over cooked if I left it for the whole 3hrs, then cooked it longer on top of that. I still thought I had messed up when I took it out because it looked so "done". The internal temp was 150 & I knew it would cook another 5-10 degrees!Next time I figured I would open the oven, check the temp & restart the oven at that point knowing how much longer I need to cook, if at all, to get that perfect roast-HOWEVER, even tho the first 2 slices were medium to medium well-which made my boyfriend happy. The next slice in was PERFECT. Pink, juicy, medium rare-this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Tried this for Christmas Eve dinner, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamarie Schmidt Perez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was wonderful. It worked perfectly following it as written. We found that that last part at 375 degrees brought us to rare after 30 minutes. I am definitely saving this recipe. THANK you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have used this recipe before, slathering it with softened butter. It is delicious. Do not open that oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have a similar recipe that works every time ! Mine has the oven up to 500 degrees. Calculate 5 min.per pound for rare; 5 1/2 mins for medium and 6 mins. for well-done.Roast for the desired doneness. Then turn the oven off for 2 hours and do not PEEK ! I like this recipe because the seasonings do not have to be mixed with flour and rubbed all over the roast. Thanks for sharing. Will try it soon. [Guess my recipe is a "tweak" but the differences are minor.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by interpreter42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This works BUT, Rub good worcestershire sauce all over the roast first. Add a Tablespoon of DRY beef broth base to the seasoning rub. Oven @ 450, roast in for 20 minutes then off and allow 30 minutes per pound without opening oven. Rest time is correct. Got this from the prime rib chef from the Lark restaurant in Tiffin, Iowa(Long since burned to the ground). They served the uncontested best Prime Rib in Iowa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Made this for Christmas Eve dinner last year and now it is going to become a tradition for my family. We all loved it. Followed the recipe to the T and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Make prime rib this way every Christmas! Wonderful! And to the poster who said the recipe submitter should give credit where credit is due, saying this is from Paula Deen? Paula published this recipe in May 2007. The recipe was published here in December 2006. Wonder where Paula got it from, hmmm?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States