Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I tried this at Thanksgiving and it was absolutely perfect! Bonus points because I was staying at a condo for the holiday so the stove was unfamiliar but I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. So tasty and moist, mmm. I'm making it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpkitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I was nervous about this recipe as I have never made prime rib before. Holy smokes this was good! I over cooked it a bit but it was still very tasty. My boyfriend made me put a bottle of beer in the bottom of the pan and this sucker was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe with a 2 1/2 lb rib roast! More than Fantastic! Rubbed the roast down all over with olive oil, and then rubbed in McCormick's Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasonings (saw this in another review here). Cut 1st cooking time down to 30 mins, waited about 2 hrs and then just turned the oven on for 20 additional minutes until the roast registered 140 degrees-Perfect. It was two generous servings but we still fought over the bones (don't waist these on the dog, one of the best parts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Ramsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This definitely does not work well on smaller roasts. I tried a 4 pound, and I followed exactly and it turned out well done. Won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I made this two years ago for Christmas and it was absolutely amazing! it was cooked perfectly and all of my guests loved it. I am glad I found it again, this time its saved to my recipe box because I am planning to cook it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have been using this recipe for 30 plus years. The only thing I do differently is let the roast sit out all night so that the entire roast is at room temperature not just the outsides! This is a very crucial stage!! I have never used a meat thermometer just this simple little guide for a medium to large roast cook additional 40 minutes at 375, for a small roast use same temp but only for 25 - 30 minutes. I also put directly into roasting pan without a rack and it does not matter if it is boneless or bone in. By letting your meat sit out overnight too come to room temperature you are curing/aging the beef. This is how my grandparents did it and lots of other members of the Colorado Cattleman's Association.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonna andie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
JUST A QUESTION, DO I COVER THE ROAST IT DOSN'T MENTION AND I WOULD LOVE TO TRY IT. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Was a bit skeptical to do this with such an expensive roast but had great success with a similar method for eye of round. I rubbed the rib roast with olive oil and added some rosemary to the spice mixture. Cooking was so simple as I was able to put the roast in the oven and then go out to run errands during its sit time. Delicious, tender and perfectly colored throughout. Will definitely do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
1st time and I was surely skeptical. Had 3.5# rib roast without the bones. Used the salt/pepper/ & granulated garlic with a bit extra garlic than called for along with some olive oil before the rub in. After the one hour of roasting, I turned off the oven. The internal temp got to the 140-145, so I was afraid the I might over coook it. The internal temp dropped during the 3 hour period and the 30 minute warm up did not take it over the 145 temp. I have to say that this was the best roast I have ever cooked, it will not be the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
works every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States