Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
1st time and I was surely skeptical. Had 3.5# rib roast without the bones. Used the salt/pepper/ & granulated garlic with a bit extra garlic than called for along with some olive oil before the rub in. After the one hour of roasting, I turned off the oven. The internal temp got to the 140-145, so I was afraid the I might over coook it. The internal temp dropped during the 3 hour period and the 30 minute warm up did not take it over the 145 temp. I have to say that this was the best roast I have ever cooked, it will not be the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
works every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hervin Balfour
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I bought an 8lb rib eye roast from Costco and was so worried I would mess it up. But after searching through numerous recipies I decided to try this one. It seemed that the most common denominator was to roast at as high a temperature as possible at 5-6 minutes per pound. Then to turn the oven off and let it roast for 2 1/2-3 hrs. I roasted mine at 500° for 40 minutes. Here are a few tips for success: 1) Purchase a thermometer that has the extendable probe cable that will allow you to monitor the roast internal temperature without having to risk opening your oven door. After 2 1/2 hours passed my roast internal temperature went down to 122°. I turned my oven back on to 375° and in ten minutes it hit my desired temperature of 145°. My thermometer has as an alarm that goes off when it hits the set temperature. With this kind of thermoter you can ensure perfect results every time. 2) Under NO cirmcunstances should you ever open the oven door during the 2 1/2-3 hrs. Again DON'T DARE OPEN THE DOOR! 3) Tie your meat up for a professional presentation so the meat doesn't look unshapely. I can't emphasize the importance of having a thermometer with a probe. I read some comments on here that people roasted an over-cooked roast. The thermometer stuck in the beginning will take away the guess work about doneness and prevent this. I hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hervin Balfour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Worked like a charm! Most expensive dish I have ever made & this recipe made it work! Followed advice for med done (10-20 minutes extra on last roast). Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shane6884
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I'll never do it differently. Strange as it sounds, this works every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gordon Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I made this yesterday and it turned out fantastic. I added another 1/2 times the spice to ensure a good coating over the entire roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Came out perfect and was devoured in short order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Excellent. I'm in charge of the roast for every family holiday and gathering and this is how I do it every time, to rave reviews. Recipe works as-is for most sizes of prime rib roast, however for larger roasts (my latest was 18 pounds!!!!) the only change I would make would be to increase the cooking time at the end of it. For the 18-pounder, I re-heated for 1 hour before serving (instead of 30-40 minutes) and it came out perfectly medium-rare. If you prefer it more well-done, I'd say to leave it in there for 1:15-1:20. Also, I let it rest for at least 30 minutes before carving. Best prime rib you'll ever eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T using an expensive 3 1/2 pound roast and it turned out rare, bleeding actually and this is after approx. 6 hrs of following the above directions. I started out by checking my oven's temperature, I let the roast sit on counter for an hour, rubbed it with the spices then cooked it for an hour at 375 degrees and after an hour turned oven off and let it sit in the oven and never once opened the oven door for the entire 3 hour wait time. At the end of the 3 hours I cooked the roast for another 45 minutes following the recipe and it was still to rare and bleeding in areas. Honestly people, why are you raving about a method that doesn't work it just doesn't make sense unless you like your meat raw or have similar tastes to that of a mountain lion then maybe but really 'are you kidding me'. I am a mature cook and would not advise anyone to use this recipe. I don't beleive the write-ups on this method are real, there can't possibly be that many people out there who like bleeding rawish meat. Final word of advice, if your chose to ignore me then start early in the day, remember the roast sits on counter for an hour, then cooks for an hour at 375 then sits in a oven that is turned off for 3 hours then back in again for whatever time is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,016) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States