Foolproof Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Excellent. I'm in charge of the roast for every family holiday and gathering and this is how I do it every time, to rave reviews. Recipe works as-is for most sizes of prime rib roast, however for larger roasts (my latest was 18 pounds!!!!) the only change I would make would be to increase the cooking time at the end of it. For the 18-pounder, I re-heated for 1 hour before serving (instead of 30-40 minutes) and it came out perfectly medium-rare. If you prefer it more well-done, I'd say to leave it in there for 1:15-1:20. Also, I let it rest for at least 30 minutes before carving. Best prime rib you'll ever eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T using an expensive 3 1/2 pound roast and it turned out rare, bleeding actually and this is after approx. 6 hrs of following the above directions. I started out by checking my oven's temperature, I let the roast sit on counter for an hour, rubbed it with the spices then cooked it for an hour at 375 degrees and after an hour turned oven off and let it sit in the oven and never once opened the oven door for the entire 3 hour wait time. At the end of the 3 hours I cooked the roast for another 45 minutes following the recipe and it was still to rare and bleeding in areas. Honestly people, why are you raving about a method that doesn't work it just doesn't make sense unless you like your meat raw or have similar tastes to that of a mountain lion then maybe but really 'are you kidding me'. I am a mature cook and would not advise anyone to use this recipe. I don't beleive the write-ups on this method are real, there can't possibly be that many people out there who like bleeding rawish meat. Final word of advice, if your chose to ignore me then start early in the day, remember the roast sits on counter for an hour, then cooks for an hour at 375 then sits in a oven that is turned off for 3 hours then back in again for whatever time is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LakanPH
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Perfect. I didn't use "prime" meat, but the outcome was tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Absolutely perfect every time. The MOST important thing is do NOT open the oven! You can season it any way you want and leave it in the oven as long as you want after turning the oven off after the first hour, as long as you DON'T open the oven and turn the oven up to 375 for the last 30-40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This really is fantastic, and easy as can be. I've followed it now at least 5 times. And while I can't get over a bit of nerves each time, just because the cut of meat is so expensive, it's never failed to make a perfect roast. Just do exactly what it says, and let the meat get up to 145 on the reheat and it will be awesome. People I serve it to can never stop raving about it afterward, and I agree. I always tape the oven door shut just to make sure no one opens it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
The best prim rib ever and so easy if you follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Plains, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was my first attempt at a rib roast and wow!!! My husband and I both loved it. Will be using this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This turned out really well. Our roast was only about 2 lbs, so I kept the same times, but dropped the temp to 375 degrees. I also used olive oil to coat the roast so that the seasoning would stick better. Then I wrapped it in aluminum foil to hold in the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great recipe. It's the only way I cook Prime Rib roast anymore. Turns out great everytime !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYJudy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,009) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States