Foolproof Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was great! My family loved it. I think I needed more potatoes. My batter was too thin and I struggled a little bit. Next time I will make sure I have a thicker consistency. But even with that, it was great. Thank you for a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
way too much onion...... had to smother it in ketsup of all things just to get 1 down... might try again without the onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Phenomenal recipe! My first time making latkes on my own and all my guests were raving. I don't own a food processor so I peeled and grated the potatoes and onion. I added a couple of dashes of pepper and garlic powder. The recipe made a lot, depending on how big your latkes are. I even sent someone home with the recipe. This is a holiday staple recipe for us now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very tasty and easy to make. I doubled the recipe but not the onions. I like the taste of onions but I thought that 2 onions was too much. I used 1 medium size onion...about 2 inches in diameter. It was just enough flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good! I didn't bother cubing the spuds since they were going to be processed. I quartered them and it worked fine. I also only used about 1 thick slice of onion, and that was enough. These turned out quite delicious with sour cream and bacon bits. Be warned, though: don't prepare this too far in advance as the potatoes will start to brown. It still tastes fine (at least to me), but it looks a little less yummy. Thanks for sharing, Basg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Great and simple! The Commenter above may have used too large of an onion, or too small potatoes. I used very large potatoes and a medium red onion (I also added crumbled bacon) and I thought they were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri-Lynn Howell-Schlaiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
The recipe was perfect. I lost my original recipe that I had for years and printed this one out. perfect. A few minor changes though. I let the potato/onion mixture sit in a colander and I push the liquid out. Than i let the potatoe water sit for 5 minutes so it becomes sediment (potato starch) and I add that to the mix as well. Also, I added more salt and definitely pepper. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Finally, perfect latkes! A few adjustments: I used 5 smallish russet potatoes and left the skins on, 1 egg and added black pepper to the mix. I did not squeeze the grated potatoes. The potatoes juices pooled at the bottom of the mixing bowl. I used a 1/3 cup measuring cup. This recipe gave me 8 uniformed patties. Fried for approximately 4 mins. each side. Terrific with our beef polska keilbasa and saurkraut. Don't forget the homemade applesauce and sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe. It really is foolproof. Success on my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
super yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States