Foolproof Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I think this is the easiest fudge recipe ever! Even though the recipe doesn't call for it, I add 1/4 cup heavy cream and 1/4 stick of butter to my chocolate chips when they are melting. Seems to make the fudge creamier and softer when it has cooled. I have also tried this by using 1/2 chocolate chips and 1/2 peanut butter chips and have put in unsalted peanuts, and have received great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
The amount of semisweet chocolate chips listed in the ingredients has been changed. The recipe now lists 3 cups insted of 1. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I used this recipe, without nuts, to make truffles...not only does it make great fudge, but the texture is perfect for scooping and rolling into balls. This also works as a wonderful base for flavorings and liquers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Beach, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
It is simple, easy and good. I don't know what any of the other people who complained about it were doing but they could not have been following the directions correctly, as some mentioned maybe they used evaporated milk, because this is really simple and one of the first "candies" I ever attempted and had no problems. I've also used low fat and fat free condensed milk with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is the recipe I use when I don't want to go to all the trouble of making "real" fudge. I just melt the chips and cond. milk in the microwave, mix in the nuts and vanilla, and it comes out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
My Father-in-law is an avid fudge maker so wanting to bring a bit of their home to ours for christmas, I tried making fudge. My mistake was trying to do it the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I found this recipe when I needed to use up a can of sweetened condensed milk I'd bought mistakenly. Normally I'm a fan of fudge made with marshmallow fluff, but this was nice for something different. I agree with the person who said that it could be used as candy filling -- I may experiment with this base for truffles. Two observations: it works best if you stir constantly, and add the chips gradually. Also, I was out of wax paper, and so I just sprayed the pan with cooking spray and left it in the fridge to chill til the fudge was ready. I was pleasantly surprised by how easily it comes out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelley
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
SUPER easy and SUPER yummy! And sooooo many variations are possible! This has been my stand-by for quite a few years now, and I rarely ever make it the same way. I live in a different country, so I don't have all of the wonderful options in flavored chocolate chips -- I only have dark chocolate and white chocolate available. That has forced me to become creative though, and with great results. Everyone ALWAYS asks me about my fudge, and comments on how great it is -- they're so surprised when I tell them how easy it is! I've done everything from your standard Chocolate Walnut, to Rum Raisin, Coffee & Hazlenut, Orange Cream, and even a Layered Peppermint fudge (with a festive mint green layer sandwiched in the middle), amongst many others. You can add various nuts, candy flavorings, liqueurs, dried fruits, zest, etc. to come up with your own, fantastic flavors. Have fun and enjoy! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This fudge was very easy to make and will probably satisfy a chocoholics craving. However, it's no comparison to real fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I read the reviews and thought....maybe I should try it anyway. Well, it didn't turn out well. Unfortunately it did turn out just like others. I had a huge mess and it just didn't seem as if the measurements were correct. All, the same thanks for the post and the learning experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States