Food for the Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I received rave reviews when I served this at my recent bunco party. My only suggestion would be to reduce the amount of butter by 3 or 4 TBS, or add a bit more flour because it was a bit oily after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Loved this recipe! Will definitely make it again and again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I really loved this recipe,its a classic!I made some slight variations,though.Instead of using white flour,I substituted it with wholemeal flour which is healthier,and I've added few drops of vanilla essence for that yummy aroma.Made this when I went on a potluck party and everybody just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
yummy! i followed the recipe as it is and it turned out great. because it is so rich, i only make this around christmas time in place of the more traditional fruit cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
GREAT!!!Best recipe I've ever tried.Just have to cut down butter to 3/4c and both sugars to 3/4c also.My 2 sons loved it and ate half of the cake before I can wrapped them individually.Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This recipe is for keeps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
BEST THING I HAVE EVER MADE!!!!!!!! This is a direct quote from my ever-picky boyfriend, and I bake a lot! It's as if a date square and a butter tart made sweet, sweet brownie-love. It is to die for!!! If this is for the gods, then I declare myself a goddess!!! Definately stick to the recipe - I tried less butter once, and it wasn't as good. I have used half spenda for the sugar, though, and it worked fine. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Good FOR ALL OCCASIONS! My friends beg me to bake more each time. I would add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I love to bake and my husband has been bugging me about baking Food for the Gods and I kept telling him I don't have a recipe for that and thank goodness sombody introduced me to allrecipes.com and got the recipe. Oh boy! since I first started baking that its like I have to make it and make it again and again. The baked product just wouldn't last for more than 3 days. Most of it of course were eaten by my husband. It is a great recipe! What more its so easy even my 4 year old can make it with a little help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made these for a Christmas party and they were a big hit! I used slightly less dates (I didn't have enough for a cup) and pecans instead of walnuts. They were moist and wonderful. I might make them again with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alejandra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States