Food for the Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
X4 Made these for the lady I care for and the co-workers loved them as well. This recipe is very rich. I had to leave the house and ended up having to turn off the oven twenty minutes into baking and finished when I returned. It fell but still oh sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Heavenly dessert! Always the bestseller in a bake sale and potlucks! I would suggest adding more walnuts to balance the sweetness of the dates and sugar. I agree also on reducing the butter to 3/4 cup. But even the way it is on the recipe, it is still good. Most of the time people wont notice the oiliness over the tastiness of the cake itself! I still prefer this over brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Pinas City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
SOOO good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Superb recipe. I got lots of compliments for these Christmas giveaways. I reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cup and I didn't pack the brown sugar well. The sweetness came just right for my taste. However,these came out cakey rather than chewy as most food for the gods should be.Any tips on how to make these chewier? I brushed on some molasses on top after they came out from the oven and they smelled even better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
soooo good!!!!!! lessened 3 tbsps of butter and used only 3/4 c white sugar. for the brown sugar, i still put in 1 c packed but used super dark brown sugar. i read a tip that if you want it chewy, use dark brown sugar. kept an eye while it was finishing in the oven and came it out super perfect!! wished this recipe was the one i used for my xmas goodie gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Not sure what I did wrong event though I followed the recipe exactly. Mine turned out dry and gritty. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
great recipe! all my friends loved it and are still asking me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I must have done something wrong...these turned out as one big gooey, chewy blob. However...it tasted great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I made half the recipe with the nuts and half without, and used all the butter and sugar. Both versions were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States