Food for the Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
These were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Add some brandy. Tastes much better and more 'Christmasy.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These were very good. I used 3/4c for the sugar and butter. They came out beautifully and I received compliments. I am rating three stars per recipe using too much butter and sugar. Made that way, they are too oily and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a good recipe if you like dates. I loved it but my family didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great recipe but, I changed a few things I used 2 9x13 pans and spread very thin to make it more like a cookie bar and for my conventional oven I reduced the times by 1/2 so for the highest temp setting I only put it in for 5 minutes and for the lower setting I put it for 15 minutes and it comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Hmm, not what I was expecting or what I was looking for, but good nonetheless. I used 3/4th cup of butter, 3/4th cups of each suagar and I'm so glad I did. One thing though: the recipe said to bake it 30-40 min after the initial 10 min and I only baked it for 30 min but it was still a little overbaked. Maybe it's my oven. In my opinion, it's not a cookie at all. More like a dense, flat pound/ butter cake with dates and walnuts. The butter flavor is very pronounced, which makes it taste great. But it's not what I would call a date "bar". My picky family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a good recipe. I had to add half a cup of flour, but the batch still came out oily. I read a few of the reviews and I think that next time, I will reduce the butter. It was still delicious and a great hit with the company. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was fantastic exactly as written. I live in the Philippines where this is a very popular dish and this recipe is better than any I've eaten here. Thanks for the recipe - definitely a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Very good...even my children who don't like dates enjoyed these treats. I used a 9 inch square pan, and cut the finished product into small powdered sugar dusted cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
i made this tonight, and it was fabulous!! I'm usually not one into anything too sweet, and i'm not really into dates either, but i made this for my bf... Anyways, i tried it, and it was great!! didnt find it too sweet at all - mind you, i took the advice of others and only used 3/4 cups of the white sugar. It didnt take away from the taste at all, or make it bland like i feared it might.... This one is a keeper!! Can't wait to serve it for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States