Food for the Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
i made this tonight, and it was fabulous!! I'm usually not one into anything too sweet, and i'm not really into dates either, but i made this for my bf... Anyways, i tried it, and it was great!! didnt find it too sweet at all - mind you, i took the advice of others and only used 3/4 cups of the white sugar. It didnt take away from the taste at all, or make it bland like i feared it might.... This one is a keeper!! Can't wait to serve it for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Rich & delicious with vanilla ice cream! I added 1/2 tsp of rum extract for more of a fruit cake flavor, but it would have been just as good without it. UPDATE: I make this every year in the fall and winter. I still use the exact recipe with the addition of 1/2 tsp. rum extract, but I also add 1 Tbsp. of vanilla and 1 Cup dark chocolate chips now. Yes, the chocolate chips make it more rich, but I love rich food (if you don't, why are you making this recipe?) and they feel so much more extravagant to me this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I cant really rate this recipe bcos i didnt follow it exactly. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup each and added only 1 cup of dates and 2 cups nuts.Even with the reduction in sugar and dates, it was still pretty sweet for us. BUT, this is a very tasty cake! I am not sure if it should be called a "cookie' tho :) I made this in mini loaf pans to give away for the holidays. I doubled the recipe and got 16 perfect mini loafs! Next time tho, I will reduce the sugar even more to 3/4C maybe and use the 2 cups of dates stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
These are wonderful and I will make them again. I followed the recipe and didn't change anything. They make a great gift being you can wrap them indivdualy and they store great this way. Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I'm on vacation for a while and i wanted to make food for the gods for my boyfriend and his relatives, but i can't remember the exact measurements of the recipe that i use back home. Then i found this recipe similar to what i make except that i followed the advise of TDAMOCLES and removed 3 tbs of butter and since his family doesn't want too much sweet i lessen the sugar into 3/4c each then use only 2 eggs. It went out Chewy with a perfect hint of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
good maya kitchen recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanayinya

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Very rich, it's like date-nut bread in the form of a brownie. I suspect this would be good with cream cheese, but I doubt I need the extra calories :) Thanks for the recipe- everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE this recipe!! It's a total hit every single time I bake these...from work to home to parties....it's always requested over and over again! My parents especially love these! I love how these smell right after baking...mmmmmmm!! Thanks for sharing such a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Good FOR ALL OCCASIONS! My friends beg me to bake more each time. I would add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
BEST THING I HAVE EVER MADE!!!!!!!! This is a direct quote from my ever-picky boyfriend, and I bake a lot! It's as if a date square and a butter tart made sweet, sweet brownie-love. It is to die for!!! If this is for the gods, then I declare myself a goddess!!! Definately stick to the recipe - I tried less butter once, and it wasn't as good. I have used half spenda for the sugar, though, and it worked fine. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States