Food for the Gods Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My friends and family like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yumrep
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I read the reviews before I went ahead and baked one. I followed the revision with 3/4 cup of butter. Brown sugar is still 1 cup. I was gonna do 3/4 cup of white sugar but I ran out so I just used what's left - that is 1/2 cup. Then I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I made the chopped walnut finer as I can't bite that much because of my braces. It smells good when I was baking it, but with 1/2 cup sugar short from the original recipe I am not expecting anything from this anymore. To my surprise it still turned out good. Whew! I thought it is going to be a waste. The roman or greek gods/goddesses must have sensed my worry lol. I'll try it with rum extract next time! Thanks for sharing the recipe. And to those who made revisions in the recipe thank you for sharing your comment/experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Love this recipe! Thanks for posting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cameo3171

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I Made it with 3/4 cup butter 1time i made it i used 1cup and it did seem alittle to buttery. My husband coworker's wife made this every year foe xmas and everyone loved it! She wouldnt give anyone the recipe or even the name. Every xmas eveyone waited for their gift lol well i found out the name and thought it was a joke but 1 nite i looked and there it was. Well I have already made it 4xs in a mnth fir different gatherings. My husband isnt allowed to bring any to work or let his coworker know that her secret is out. It wouldnt ve nice plus I wouldnt want her to stop making it . Everything taste better when someone else makes it lol now if we could just get her amazing eggroll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I followed the recommendations to use 3/4 C butter and 3/4 C sugar - and it tasted delicious (my fiance loved it!). However, it was cake like and my childhood memories were more of a moist brownie-bar type consistency. I think I will try the original recipe next time. Flavors were rich but very cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is a good recipe. I followed others advice and reduced the butter to 3/4 c. As with both sugars. 2 whole c. Of sugar would have been far too sweet. My batch came out a bit Daley though. I remember food for the gods having a fudgey texture, like brownies. Feels more fulfilling. Maybe I over beated the eggs? Also, I added 3/4 tsp. Vanilla and 1/4 tsp of almond extract, just to give a nutty aroma. Plus 1tbs of honey. This would also pair well with whipped cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I read all the reviews and did decrease the sugars to 3/4 c each and the butter as well. it was still quite sweet and greasy. tasted good, but the greasy was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
OMG, are these ever heavenly! They are truly melt-in-your-mouth delicious. I took the advice of another reviewer and used a bit less butter and about 1/4 cup more flour to make the bars less greasy. I also cut back on the sugar just a little as the prechopped dates I purchased were already sugared. Thank you for this wonderful recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I doubled the recipe and it is perfect for a half sheet pan. I was able to get 24 (2X3) pieces. I reduced the sugars to what people recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States