Food For The Gods II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Tried this with a few adjustments for a healthier option and it was a hit! Reduced sugar by 1cup (to 1/2 cup) and added 1/2 cup semolina for a crunch. I chopped the dates and soaked them in 1/2-3/4 cup boiling water with the bicarbonate soda and didn't puree them. If you prefer moist, you can bake it for 10 mins less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Dusty
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!! I made it for a church pot luck the morning of. No adjustments. My dates came prepackaged and pre-chopped, so I put them in the food processor; I couldn't quite purée them, but I came as close as I could - smaller sticky chunks I had to break apart. I did the same with my walnut halves. The result was awesome!! By the end of the pot luck, there was almost none left, so I'm making more right now - except that I'm out of dates, so I'm trying a mixture of raisins and dried cranberries. We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very nice...and easy to make...i loved making it with my daughter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Um, wow! it was pretty good, but my dates only were choppable, so it was like adding raisins to the batter. Still good, but not a very heaven-bound dessert - more of an end-of-beach-day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I never made Food for the Gods, never even heard of it - but all I can say is WOW - delicious! Had my doubts when I was putting it together, but it is awesome - very simple too. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very good. Everyone asks me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valencia, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
We have been making a similar recipe for over 40 years. However, our recipe is much more nutritionally friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Very easy to make and turned out well too. Looks a little more appealing with powdered sugar sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
These are my husbands favorite bars. And I like that they are so easy to make. Thanks Mel for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Omigosh. This cake is superb! I used fresh dates which were lovely and sticky when pureed, and the cake perfumed the house beautifully when baking. We had this warm with cream; a bit of caramel sauce (butter, brown sugar, cream) on the side would have gone well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States