Fondue Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The recipe is good, though I required a little more milk to bring together the dough and I agree that 2 lbs. of cheese is quite excessive. I imagine that the recipe may have mistakenly intended 2 cups of cheese. I have used a half to three quarters of a pound with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
very pretty and original, perfect for a buffet. I was afraid to put too hot liquid on the yeast (I did it once and the yeast was killed and the bread flat), but it worked out beautifully. Easier than I thougth and no cheese oozing out at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
The BEST! Rarely any left over, but if there is it reheats so easily. Wonderful with tossed or fruit salad or served as appetizer. I like to use 2 different cheeses or use up different pieces of whatever cheese is in the refrigerator. Always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This bread is delicious. I used 1 lb of muenster and that was plenty for my cheese-loving family. Leftover slices were heat in the microwave for 30s to make yummy and melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
ohhhhhhhhhh my goodness is this ever heaven, do try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! It was a huge hit at the holiday party I brought it to. However, I think 2 lbs. of cheese is WAY too much. I used one pound this time making it, but I think I could even go with 1/2-3/4 lb. next time. It was not too hard to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYMSTARA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I had a recipe similiar to this from a Redbook Cook book...and then I lost the book! Thanks Lisa Russel for reviving one of my favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is great bread! But while I used the required amount of cheese the first go round, I cut it in half the second time. Also, I did not mix the egg in the cheese the second time (I forgot). It still turned out fine. This recipe is certainly a keeper! I'm going to look for more by this author! It is requested at all our family functions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
We did not care for this recipe. My kids love "stuffed crust" pizza and I was hoping for something similar but did not achieve it. It was very "doughy" tasting and I had a hard time getting the cheese to stay on the dough while rolling (I only used 1lb. cheese/which may be why it was more dough than cheese, but I cannot imagine having to fit 2lbs. of shredded cheese inside the dough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I was a little skeptical about this while I was making it because my dough didn't seem to pull together well. I think I used too much flour - next time, I'll only use 3 cups or so. Plus, the dough was too elastic to roll out to the correct measurements, so my loaf was a little small. But it baked up wonderfully and tasted AWESOME. It was gone in minutes at my New Years Eve party. I'll definately make again, just with less flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States