Fondant Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The first time i made i did exactly what the recipe said. The next time i used Rosemary (which i prefer) instead of thyme. Tonight I toned down the salt and used some garlic salt instead, Ohh it was soooo good. I defiantly recommend these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Had to substitute basil for thyme in this outstanding recipe. The contrasting textures had my friends "Mmmmmmm"-ing throughout dinner. This is a new staple in my dinner party recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherminator
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great potato, I do them sliced half inch thick, no oil. they cook quicker, and no oven needed. I start them off in butter medium heat careful not to burn the butter, once browned on the bottom I flip them over and ad chicken stock, very slowly, or it can flare up, finish cooking till the other side is browned. quick, easy , yum I been cooking these for 3 years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Ha Cha Cha! These are great! The best potatoes I have made. Creamy with the flavor of the stock, amazing. I did not have russet potatoes so I used red potatoes making sure of the size for correct baking. I used olive oil and 1Tsp. dried thyme. Great flavor, I would love to try them with rosemary too. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Oh my I tried these potatoes last week for a dinner with family and they were fabulous!I did not have either fresh rosemary or thyme so I used chives from the garden and used some thyme in the jar for seasoning. They were so good and the presentation was wonderful. Future staple at dinner parties for me--thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
These are so fancy and so good I like garlic and bacon bits in the butter for cooking them in then pouring over them when done baking. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I must say, try to watch the video before making these. It makes the instructions so much easier. I read some reviews before attempting to make these. I combined spice suggestions and used thyme, rosemary & tarragon (I only had dried spices available, but am sure that using fresh would throw this over the top). The texture of the potatoes was crispy, creamy & yummy. I didn't think these were too time consuming, considering the professional result. Served as a side dish to BBQ NY Strip (also on this site). Can't wait to make these again with fresh herbs!! Thanks Chef, for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I love all of Chef John's recipes, and fondant potatoes is no exception! While a bit decadent in terms of fat content, these potatoes make a unique and luxurious side dish for a special meal. I served them alongside grilled king salmon for Christmas dinner, and it was a surprisingly great combination. I followed the recipe to the letter, and the one thing I will say is that mine needed closer to an hour in the oven (and I used about a cup of chicken stock total) for the insides to be cooked through and nice and creamy. I ended up having to stick them back in after removing them at 40 minutes, when my daughter tasted one and commented that it wasn't done yet. So be careful to make sure they are cooked through before serving them. I will say that the presentation on the platter with the flourish of thyme sprigs was quite striking! Great recipe, and fun to try to something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is one of the best potato recipes I have ever used & leaves room for a lot of experimental flavors. Always nice to have people walk away wondering how many years u went to culinary school. Very elegant & impressive. As always my hats off to you chef John. thanks for all the wonderful recipes & ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These were good. Will make them again, fancy looking and tasty, I added some garlic and transfer them to a baking dish as i did not have a cast iron skillet. All and all good and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States