Fondant Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
i followed all the directions, when i frosted the cake it was the consistancy of paste, then ran off and continued to run off the cake like melting ice cream. is there a trick to this? or is it just a bad recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was able to get the temp. of the eggs up to 160 by heating the whites to 120 in a double boiler prior to beating them, just make sure you're conscious of the egg temperature while making this recipe. Check out the American egg boards website for tips and recipes at aeb.org.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValentineWiggan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I baked with a digital thermometer exactly to 248 like it said. This never firmed up!! I added a pound of confectionars sugar in an attempt to stiffen up, I just got twice the amount of the same !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This totally RUINED my sister's birthday cake! I was amazed that the golden syrup became white frosting after beating it, but after frosting the cake with it and putting it in the fridge for an hour, it slid off the cake and soaked into it. Very fortunately, we had a boxed cake and frosting in the pantry that saved our lives! I am scared to try this again now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
it was pretty good. Not what I was expecting for fondant frosting. THe flavor was ok... probably not going to make it again. But it did look nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigSisChef
Reviewed: May 7, 2001
Drizzling in the hot syrup will not heat the eggs sufficiently to kill any bacteria. The American Egg Board provides instructions on how to make your favorite recipes, including frostings, by slowly bringing the raw eggs to the appropriate temperature in a double boiler - along with some of the sugar and liquid to prevent curdling - and then continuing with your original recipe (see Egg Safety).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
This is not a petits fours frosting. It is called "fluffy frosting" and is really pretty on presentation cakes. It does not lend itself well to the flavor or presentation of petits fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
This frosting tasted great and looked beautiful on my cakes! Unfortunately, it is tedious to make, and clean up is a hassle. Be careful not to spill any on yourself or your counters, as the frosting is like spackle and is hard to clean up. I would defenitly make it again, but only for "special presentation" cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States