Foil Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Pretty Good Basic Recipe. After trying, made a couple of personal adjustments. Love baked potatoes so always make extra and keep on hand in refrig. Don't know how long they last this way because they always disappear too fast. Cut potato in half. Lay flat side down and puncture twice with a fork. Roll over and either puncture the meaty side multiple times with a fork to aerate or use a knife to cut three l/4" slits lengthwise. For 6 potatoes, melt @ 3 Tbsp butter (salted or unsalted), and with basting brush coat a plentiful layer of butter the length of each potato side. Sprinkle on some Kosher or sea salt to taste, and we like to add McCormick's Garlic Pepper mix, but you can add any spice combo that is your pleasure. Sometimes I also add a topping of Oscar Meyer Bacon Pieces. Press the two sides together and wrap tightly in foil - seam side up is just common sense. Oven at 400 degrees, preheat cookie sheet, evenly space potatoes and bake 75 minutes. When done and you open up the foil, sprinkle on some cheese of choice or a layer of sour cream, some broccoli bits, chili, whatever, then serve. If you store some of these puppy's for later, remove foil, reheat in microwave for 1 1/2 - 2 minutes on high, then put on toppings. You can also do these on a grill instead of an oven but you'll have to gauge the time based on your grill temp, or if you're camping, make ahead and just throw in the campfire coals for about 45-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Potatoes baked like this are so very creamy and tender and no, they are not a quick fix but I think they are way better tasting than a bland dry whole baked potatoe. I'm not a garlic fan so I slice up an onion and put a whole slice of onion between each half with the butter. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My boyfriend said that these were the best potatoes he had ever had, so much so that I had to make them two days in a row! I agree, they are simple and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These are delicious. I followed the recipe exactly. This recipe could not be easier. You get fantastic results for little effort. This is a winter time favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Came out perfect and in the amount of time the recipe called for. We put them on a grate over the flames, and they were actually in contact with some of the flames. The outside skinds came out a little charred, so if you like to eat the whole potato be careful. Otherwise absolutely perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickyCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Excellent! I used olive oi, salt, pepper and garlic powder. Also tried it with sweet potatoes. Heavenly! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Doesn't get much easier than this. For people who love potatoes and simplicity (rather than lots of seasonings and extras) this is a great recipe. The only thing you need to make sure about is to place the potatoes in a baking dish or on top of a baking sheet that isn't too shallow because the butter will melt and get all over the place - smoke alarm went off the first time I made these! But I like making these when I don't want too much prep work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Five stars for taste and prep. Soooo easy to prep and they have a great taste to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
We do this but microwave the potatoes, 5-7 minutes, put in foil w/butter, garlic and onion powders, wrap tight and put n the grill. Easy and delicious! and no hot oven to heat up in the summertime...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These were quick and easy side dish. I made them last night with steaks and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizsweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States