Foil Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very delicious. Some things that I did diffrent would be once the potatoes were cut in half I poked holes in the potatoe with a fork. I also used seasoned salt instead regular salt. I also would recomened backing for about 55-60 minutes if you like your baked potatoes a bit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nini
Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
These were good. I too have fixed them on the grill. I baked them in the oven tonight, but had to do them at 350.(had something else already cooking) They took 1 1/4 hrs. I used seasoned salt (just sprinkled), butter, and shaved parmesan cheese. Very tasty! A friend of mine taught me to score the potatoes about 1/4-1/2 inch deep,(like tic tac toe) after cutting in half lengthwise, so that the butter and seasonings get into the potato. Tastes better than ordinary baked potatoes and no prep time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I do this recipe a little differently. I drizzle olive oil on the potatoes instead of butter, and I put some whole garlice cloves in the foil package. The garlic gets more infused and doesn't smother the potatoes, and it also roasts in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I can't believe how something as easy as cutting the potatoes in half changes the flavour of them! I made them tonight just as the recipe is online and they were well loved by my entire family. (I have to make more next time!) The best thing about this recipe is that it can be altered to individual tastes and it will inevitably taste wonderful! I am thinking of trying a little dill next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I made this recipe as is, and enjoyed it thoroughly. I felt that rather than garlic powder, fresh garlic would have made this so much better, given the 40 minute cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I did these on the grill. I did two potatoes and partially microwaved them to cut down on time. I scored them and didn't measure the spices. I used seasoned salt and garlic powder. I also used a little melted butter and olive oil - not too much just enough to rub onto the potatoe. These are always delicious. I served them with a side of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I do these all the time on the GRILL. They are great summer fare. Occasionally I add garlic, as well. With the new non-stick foil I can cook them super crispy on the outside without fear of burning. For large groups I also do these in a large aluminum foil pan on the grill. Make sure to seal the foil really really well before flipping though, and two sets of hands help during flipping as well, but it is great for a large party or potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY4MACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Good basic recipe, though I made some changes. I was taking these out camping so that I could cook them over the campfire, so I baked my spuds in the oven for about 1/2 hour before assembling them (takes way less time, and prevents them from burning). Once they were a little softened, I peeled them, and cubed them. I also added some yellow onion and some grated cheddar. I then wraped them up tightly in the foil, and paked them in the cooler. Once we were out at the campfire, I just cooked them on the grill, rotating, and flipping them regularly. Worked great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
What a waste of time. My medium-large spuds took well over 90 minutes to soften, and even then there were a couple of hard spots near the skin. The skin is my favorite part of baked taters, but they turned out soggy, wrinkly and inedible. I'll stick with my usual method of nuking the potatoes for 6 minutes, then finishing them off in the oven at about 450 for 30 mins. Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
wow, 1 tsp per potato of garlic powder for four potatoes was waaaaay too much. Half would have been plenty. Also too much salt, I'd half that next time too, especially if not using unsalted butter. We added sour cream at the table to cut the saltiness so they were edible. These are not for people who are wanting a crispy skin. I love crispy skin but this was a nice change. Be careful when wrapping the potato that it is sealed very tightly. When you put them into the oven, make sure the folded ends are pointing UP because the butter leaked out all over the bottom of the oven and smoked up the kitchen. I don't know why I didn't expect that. I would make this again, just half the salt and garlic powder, or use fresh garlic and sea salt. Thanks for the great idea, it really made the potato more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattipoopidoo

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States