Foil Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very flavorful and tender. Served as a side dish with honey baked chicken and italian seasoned green beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
These were very good, moist and flavorful. Whole family said they were the best baked potato I had ever made. The only thing I did was leave off the salt, as I usually don't cook with it anyway. I put about one tsp of butter between the two halves of potatoe and sprinkled with garlic powder. 40 min was plenty of time, but I do have a convection oven, so I don't know if that makes a difference. They taste great reheated too!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These were great! Either in the oven or on the grill. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
These were good. I too have fixed them on the grill. I baked them in the oven tonight, but had to do them at 350.(had something else already cooking) They took 1 1/4 hrs. I used seasoned salt (just sprinkled), butter, and shaved parmesan cheese. Very tasty! A friend of mine taught me to score the potatoes about 1/4-1/2 inch deep,(like tic tac toe) after cutting in half lengthwise, so that the butter and seasonings get into the potato. Tastes better than ordinary baked potatoes and no prep time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
I do these all the time on the GRILL. They are great summer fare. Occasionally I add garlic, as well. With the new non-stick foil I can cook them super crispy on the outside without fear of burning. For large groups I also do these in a large aluminum foil pan on the grill. Make sure to seal the foil really really well before flipping though, and two sets of hands help during flipping as well, but it is great for a large party or potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMY4MACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Good basic recipe, though I made some changes. I was taking these out camping so that I could cook them over the campfire, so I baked my spuds in the oven for about 1/2 hour before assembling them (takes way less time, and prevents them from burning). Once they were a little softened, I peeled them, and cubed them. I also added some yellow onion and some grated cheddar. I then wraped them up tightly in the foil, and paked them in the cooler. Once we were out at the campfire, I just cooked them on the grill, rotating, and flipping them regularly. Worked great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I have to agree with most of WHATS HIS FACE's review. 4 potatoes need more than 40 minutes and I think that this recipe, as written, is a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I do this recipe a little differently. I drizzle olive oil on the potatoes instead of butter, and I put some whole garlice cloves in the foil package. The garlic gets more infused and doesn't smother the potatoes, and it also roasts in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
sorry but the potatoes took a good hour and a half to cook and i found them to be very dry,i wouldnt cook them this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
These were very flavorful... a little too march garlic for my taste, but otherwise, great. I cooked these for 70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States