Foil Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was okay. I thought the garlic was too powerful...maybe next time I will go with the fresh garlic as some others suggested. I would try it again. It was nice to have all the toppings on the potato when it was put on your plate...no forever adding butter, salt, etc. and mashing it all around...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great idea! It was so easy, and tasted a lot better than traditional baked potatoes. I'll definitely make my potatoes like this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
that were the moistness baked potatoes I have every tasted.I did then in the oven for 60 minutes and they were perfected.My son and wife couldn't get over how good they were.Thanks Adeline Prince Albert Sask.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
we have been doing our potatos like this for years. only way we do bakers now. instead we use coarse sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I have done this before, however, for simplifying this extremely simple recipe, I use Garlic butter and before serving, give the a quick grill for beautiful markings and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Tasted great.. can wrap them before.. I added a 1/2 piece of bacon and some onions in mine... good good .. make them ahead and take them to warm on the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My trick for this is to wrap the potato in foil and then only poke holes on the upper side. That way the butter stays where it belongs and crisps up the peel. I love to use this when camping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBBEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winkler, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
We make these a lot in the summer and do them on the grill. A delicious alteration and for slightly faster cooking is to slice the potatoes and layer them with onions drizzling olive oil and salt and pepper between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Gargiulo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
wow, 1 tsp per potato of garlic powder for four potatoes was waaaaay too much. Half would have been plenty. Also too much salt, I'd half that next time too, especially if not using unsalted butter. We added sour cream at the table to cut the saltiness so they were edible. These are not for people who are wanting a crispy skin. I love crispy skin but this was a nice change. Be careful when wrapping the potato that it is sealed very tightly. When you put them into the oven, make sure the folded ends are pointing UP because the butter leaked out all over the bottom of the oven and smoked up the kitchen. I don't know why I didn't expect that. I would make this again, just half the salt and garlic powder, or use fresh garlic and sea salt. Thanks for the great idea, it really made the potato more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattipoopidoo
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
So simple and yet it adds a little extra awesomeness to what the baked potato is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potato and Parsnip Gratin

A rich gratin with potatoes, parsnips, and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States