Foil Barbecued Trout with Wine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Yum!!! I mixed all the ingredients (I added garlic) together and then put the solid portion of the mixture into the filets and poured the remaining (mostly liquid) over the top and let it pool around the fish and then bbq'd it on low. Turned out awesome. I think the key is to use the freshest fish possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
DELICIOUS! I don't have a BBQ so I baked the trout in the oven instead. We like our fish very well done... almost crispy. So I baked it for 20 minutes at 350F and then I broiled it for about another 8 minutes. I also followed the suggestions made here and added some fresh garlic. We loved this recipe and we will definitely be enjoying it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
4 stars as is---add 2 cloves of minced garlic, a tablespoon of dill and alot of freshly cracked black pepper and it's a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is a nice light, quick recipe for trout. I followed this exactly, and I think it turned out very good, but this is not a recipe with a lot of bold flavors. You definitely get to appreciate the flavor of the trout. I didn't seem to notice the flavor of the wine at all, although the texture of the fish was wonderful. This can be baked in the oven at 400 degrees 20 minutes, I made this twice, once on the grill too. Thanks, I will use this again (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great base...I added 2 cloves fresh minced garlic and did not use parsley. My husband said it was the best trout he'd ever had! I also used fresh lemon juice and fresh trout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisandreasings
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
3 1/2 stars: I followed the advice of others here & sprinkled garlic powder on the fillets after the liquid addition. BTW: the recipe isn't written all that clearly: we melted butter, added the lemon juice & wine to that butter, mixed, and then trickled over the fish before garlic powder (next time I'll use garlic SALT instead), freshly ground salt & pepper & parsley . I needed to use a lot more foil than was described--but it worked out quite well, boiling brilliantly when I opened to check the fish at 15 min. My husband loved it; the kids ate all that was served to them; I thought it was OK, but tasted more like FISH than flavor. Our fish had been defrosted from our freezer (bought fresh), so I'd try this again FRESH from the store (& with garlic salt or fresh garlic), b/c it was only that little edge away from a 4-star in my opinion. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
A great quick and easy recipe. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Recently tried this recipe with trout we caught in the Gulf; the wine kept everything most, the lemon juice was a great accent but like other reviewers, I missed the garlic...will make again, w/garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAHSMOMX3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very simple, moist and delicious. I added minced garlic to mine and, in addition to the (fresh) lemon juice, I added sliced lemon to the cavity. I wrapped my large rainbow trout in foil and baked it in the oven at 375 for about 40 minutes - doneness completely depends on the thickness of the fish, bake/grill until opaque in middle and fish flakes easily with fork. Very very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Loved it but can't give it 5 stars because I changed...added plenty of fresh chopped garlic to the butter and microwaved the two together to melt before pouring on fish. Dill would be good too and yes, plenty of fresh ground pepper! Yum, moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Halibut with Rice Wine

Simple grilled halibut topped with a flavorful rice wine and black bean sauce.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States