Foil-Baked Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Since I was curious, the second time I cooked this, I only used two large foil pouches, rather than 9 little ones. It worked great! I made the pieces of foil the same length as the width of the foil, to make large squares. I just had two bundles, each composed of two sheets for the top and two for the bottom. Laid out the chicken in a single layer, had each of the foil packets on their own cookie sheet. Worked really well, didn't notice any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaycatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I'm not sure how I found this, but needed a quick recipe for thighs. I added a tiny bit of rice vinegar and no sugar..no cilantro (didn't have any)no Kikkoman, used another kind. Result? my husband said, mid bite: 'what kind of chicken is this?" me: "thighs" he: "this is the BEST I've ever eaten" . He's 62 and I'm a cook....so easy it's ridiculous and no mess, baked in foil! YEAH !! try this you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Absolutely awesome! I didn't even use all the ingredients because I only had soy sauce and cornstarch and I used garlic powder. And it still turned out. I can't wait till I use all ingredients and also my husband said it was the best I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
As far as I'm concerned, there is no substitution for Hoisin sauce, you either have it or you don't. It is usually made with soybean paste, sesame oil, garlic, vinegar, molasses, and sometimes chilli and other spices. It's a tad sweet and salty. Easy to find in an asian market or grocery store (for A LOT cheaper, too). Not sure who tried to sub peanut butter, but ya... lol Definitely cannot fault the recipe on that one. Goes very very well with chopped green onion. I had this with sauteed shiitake mushrooms over rice. Added cayenne pepper for heat. I left the cornstarch out entirely and did not miss it. The hoisin sauce I had on hand was really thick as it was, and with the other ingredients it just made more sense to leave it out. It was thick enough when it sat for a bit anyways. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Kitahara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is a surprisingly good and surprisingly easy recipe. The only thing I do differently is cook all of the chicken in one big bag. I'd also recommend spraying the bag with cooking spray so it won't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Flavor was great--I almost skipped the cilantro, but I am really glad I didn't! Only 4 stars because I think that there was too much cornstarch. Instead of having a nice gravy-like sauce, it was thick & clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Good flavor, but I think the recipe might have called for too much cornstarch, as the sauce came out sort of clumpy! I'll use half the amount next time. Otherwise, a good mix of flavors. I used diced chicken breast rather than thighs, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. Served over white rice... The Hoisin sauce makes all the difference-- Don't leave it out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Flavor was there and chicken was perfectly tender....but I do believe there is too much cornstarch. My sauce was very clumpy and I had to add water just before serving. Would make again, just cut back on the cornstarch. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Loved this!!! 1st time I made this I left out the cilantro (didn't have any)... I thought the cornstarch might have been a bit much as the sauce tasted a tad grainy... next time I may cut the cornstarch in half but otherwise it's a fantastic recipe!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Very good meal, very good. I just didn't have any Hoisin but it didn't matter, it was very good like I said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States