Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This made a very nice focaccia. I have been making bread for years and I noticed some errors in the instructions. If you are having problems it may be because you need to BLOOM the yeast in the water first. Some others have called it proofing but when you place the yeast in water and it foams up it is blooming. This is necessary because the yeast is in a suspended state when it is dried. Only the "fast acting" powder yeast may be added directly to the dry ingredients. (this may have been what the author used) After the ingredients are incorporated and kneaded you ferment (first rise), then you punch down and do any scaling or panning (if you are making multiple products from the dough like rolls...) after all that is done you PROOF the dough to double its size and bake it. You will have some oven spring where it grows a little in the oven, and once it hits about 140F the yeast dies and the bread sets its shape. good luck and don't buy any more overpriced artesian bread when you can make it yourself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Bread is tasty, but as some others mentioned I think it needs a bit more salt, although some of my guests thought it was fine as is. I used the ingredients as written, but prepared it the traditional way of dissolving the yeast in the water. Once the bread was prepared, I let it rise for a couple of hours before baking. It turned out well. I did not use the full amount of flour as called for and next time will not use more than 2 cups. I think this will help solve some of the denseness issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I'm in the camp of this recipes reviewers who agree that this recipe doesn't rise well. The idea and the flavors are good, but there must be something wrong with the directions. I have made some focaccias that turned out much better than this one did. Still, it made a tasty bread, even though it was dense and only partially risen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very tasty as written. I followed directions exactly and the bread turned out alright, without proofing the yeast ahead of time. Since it is supposed to be a "flat" bread, maybe proofing the yeast isn't all that important? Next time I will try proofing the yeast first to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
i followed the dough recipe almost exactly, including NOT curing the yeast. it turned out REALLY good and i had no problem with it rising! i didn't have mozzarella or Parmesan --i topped with red onion, olive oil, more garlic powder, fresh tomato and cheddar cheese. Next time, I'm definitely going to add more salt, and LOTS more garlic. i think Parmesan will be a lot better than cheddar too! My husband really liked this (and he's VERY picky). I can't wait to make it again, except of course make it even tastier! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A fabulous and quick alternative to longer-rising recipes. The kicker is to make sure that the dough is left in a warm place to rise- I usually put it near the stove while it's preheating. Otherwise followed the recipe just as written and it rose nicely and baked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I read the reviews and made some adjustments to the recipe. I put the sugar in with the warm water, let the sugar dissolve and then added the yeast. I let it set for about 15 minutes so the yeast could bubble and foam. I used 3 teaspoons of salt instead of 1 teaspoons since some reviews said it needed more salt. I cut the oregano, thyme and garlic to 1/2 teaspoon each. Other than that I followed the directions. The focaccia bread came out very good but, next time I'll only use 2 teaspoons of salt. Also I plan to bake the bread for about 10 minutes without the cheeses, then add the Parmesan and Mozzarella cheese and continue baking for another 5 to 10 minutes. The cheese on my bread ended up too brown. While baking the bread, it made my kitchen smell like a pizza was baking. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This bread is pretty good. I would have rated it 4 1/2 stars if I could because the bread is a little too dense. Sometimes it gets a little undercooked, but overall it is great! Not sure what I can really do about the denseness, so I might try a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
wow amazing i don't think i'll ever buy another one agian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aura_bryt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Grayland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States