Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe time and time again and it is always a hit. I always follow the recipe as it is a great blend of herbs. I have used it as a side with chilli, and as a stand alone appetizer with balsamic dip. The last one I made I used chipotle infused olive oil to brunch it with and it added some nice heat. An absolute favourite recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Tried this because of the many rave reviews. Ended up using Italian seasoning instead of individual herbs, granulated garlic instead of powder, and even then, I halved the amounts for them. This dough was DRY. 1 cup of water is in no way enough for this recipe. I had to add a bit more water, and even then, I should have added more. And the vegetable oil? Why? This is focaccia! If you're going to top it with olive oil, put it in it as well! All in all, I wasn't very pleased with the recipe. It didn't rise enough, was too dense, and was too dry. I'll maybe try it again sometime, but add more liquid and fuss with it a bit more. But again..not expecting much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
According to some, proofing the yeast is an unnecessary step, while others believe it's vital...baking doesn't really come naturally to me so I play it safe and proof the yeast in warm water and sugar every time I make this. It's always delicious! I've made it according to recipe and customized it with what I have on hand...it's very flexible. I recommend adding the cheese halfway through so it doesn't get over brown. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Bohle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Absolutely love it! Was so easy and quick to make this, there is little reason not to make this often! Only thing I did differently was to use 3/4 cup bread flour in place of all purpose flour and placed cheddar cheese on top instead of Parmesan and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I foolishly didn't read the reviews. I knew I should have proofed the yeast first, but tried it as written, hoping I had found an easy bread. It didn't rise properly. I will still use this recipe, but with a proper method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This came out well with a few changes. I proofed the yeast in warm water with a little sugar first. About 1/3 cup of water (at about 100 degrees) plus a pinch of sugar gets the yeast rolling. Just subtract that amount of water from the recipe directions when adding all the other ingredients. I used olive oil for my veggie oil and add the salt only with the flour as salt can the yeast if added too early. I used chopped fresh thyme and rosemary (about a tsp each) instead of dried herbs because I had them. Like earlier rating comments, I also did two risings and made the first rising 45 instead of 20 minutes. The texture is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Its a wonderful recipe. We followed the recipe exactly, and we could barely stop eating it, it was so good. If you are confused by any of the directions, there is a great video that shows how to make focaccia on here too. There was just enough oil to give it an authentic taste without being too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe. Instructions need some help so I read some other reviews. I proofed my dough twice before baking. Changed the seasoning to a more Mexican Style (cumin, fresh cilantro, fresh garlic and mexican oregano. Then after the first rise I flattened it out some, added cheddar cheese and jalapenos; rolled it up like a jelly roll, then fattened it into a rectangle. Let it rise again on a greased and corn meal covered baking sheet. Baked it as instructed and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This recipe is great for the most part, but I would recommend soaking your yeast in some warm water before using it (1/4 oz water per 1/4 oz yeast)and using real garlic instead of powder. If you are also looking for exactly how long to knead, 5-10 minutes will give you a nice smooth dough. Also to echo another person's post, a second rise is always crucial. 30 minutes worked. Thank you for an awesome recipe :). .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Also, I forgot to mention , I did this in 8"pan was wanting the bread for sandwiches.U can use either 8"round or 8by8"square pan.& also for fluffier texture don't punch down the bread much after 1st rise when u keep it on pan for 2nd rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States