Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
THIS WAS AWESOME I made it as the recipe said - but drizzled with oil and sprinkled with cheese for the last few minutes. Next time bake on parchment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was amazing! It was so easy, I will never be daunted by making focaccia again! I topped with a mixture of Italian cheeses, herbs, and tomatoes. My kids and guests were impressed. First night, we ate it w gnocchi, and I used the leftovers the next night to serve w chili. It made a huge pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe time and time again and it is always a hit. I always follow the recipe as it is a great blend of herbs. I have used it as a side with chilli, and as a stand alone appetizer with balsamic dip. The last one I made I used chipotle infused olive oil to brunch it with and it added some nice heat. An absolute favourite recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Tried this because of the many rave reviews. Ended up using Italian seasoning instead of individual herbs, granulated garlic instead of powder, and even then, I halved the amounts for them. This dough was DRY. 1 cup of water is in no way enough for this recipe. I had to add a bit more water, and even then, I should have added more. And the vegetable oil? Why? This is focaccia! If you're going to top it with olive oil, put it in it as well! All in all, I wasn't very pleased with the recipe. It didn't rise enough, was too dense, and was too dry. I'll maybe try it again sometime, but add more liquid and fuss with it a bit more. But again..not expecting much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
According to some, proofing the yeast is an unnecessary step, while others believe it's vital...baking doesn't really come naturally to me so I play it safe and proof the yeast in warm water and sugar every time I make this. It's always delicious! I've made it according to recipe and customized it with what I have on hand...it's very flexible. I recommend adding the cheese halfway through so it doesn't get over brown. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Absolutely love it! Was so easy and quick to make this, there is little reason not to make this often! Only thing I did differently was to use 3/4 cup bread flour in place of all purpose flour and placed cheddar cheese on top instead of Parmesan and mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I foolishly didn't read the reviews. I knew I should have proofed the yeast first, but tried it as written, hoping I had found an easy bread. It didn't rise properly. I will still use this recipe, but with a proper method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This came out well with a few changes. I proofed the yeast in warm water with a little sugar first. About 1/3 cup of water (at about 100 degrees) plus a pinch of sugar gets the yeast rolling. Just subtract that amount of water from the recipe directions when adding all the other ingredients. I used olive oil for my veggie oil and add the salt only with the flour as salt can the yeast if added too early. I used chopped fresh thyme and rosemary (about a tsp each) instead of dried herbs because I had them. Like earlier rating comments, I also did two risings and made the first rising 45 instead of 20 minutes. The texture is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Its a wonderful recipe. We followed the recipe exactly, and we could barely stop eating it, it was so good. If you are confused by any of the directions, there is a great video that shows how to make focaccia on here too. There was just enough oil to give it an authentic taste without being too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe. Instructions need some help so I read some other reviews. I proofed my dough twice before baking. Changed the seasoning to a more Mexican Style (cumin, fresh cilantro, fresh garlic and mexican oregano. Then after the first rise I flattened it out some, added cheddar cheese and jalapenos; rolled it up like a jelly roll, then fattened it into a rectangle. Let it rise again on a greased and corn meal covered baking sheet. Baked it as instructed and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States