Focaccia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This bread did not last an hour, nor did it have time to get cold. As a matter of fact, I think it didn't even last 30 minutes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This bread was delicious! I recommend sprinkling the bread with garlic salt before putting it in the oven. I didn't have basil, so I just used Emeril's Italian Herb mix. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Quick, easy, delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This made a very nice focaccia. I have been making bread for years and I noticed some errors in the instructions. If you are having problems it may be because you need to BLOOM the yeast in the water first. Some others have called it proofing but when you place the yeast in water and it foams up it is blooming. This is necessary because the yeast is in a suspended state when it is dried. Only the "fast acting" powder yeast may be added directly to the dry ingredients. (this may have been what the author used) After the ingredients are incorporated and kneaded you ferment (first rise), then you punch down and do any scaling or panning (if you are making multiple products from the dough like rolls...) after all that is done you PROOF the dough to double its size and bake it. You will have some oven spring where it grows a little in the oven, and once it hits about 140F the yeast dies and the bread sets its shape. good luck and don't buy any more overpriced artesian bread when you can make it yourself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Bread is tasty, but as some others mentioned I think it needs a bit more salt, although some of my guests thought it was fine as is. I used the ingredients as written, but prepared it the traditional way of dissolving the yeast in the water. Once the bread was prepared, I let it rise for a couple of hours before baking. It turned out well. I did not use the full amount of flour as called for and next time will not use more than 2 cups. I think this will help solve some of the denseness issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I'm in the camp of this recipes reviewers who agree that this recipe doesn't rise well. The idea and the flavors are good, but there must be something wrong with the directions. I have made some focaccias that turned out much better than this one did. Still, it made a tasty bread, even though it was dense and only partially risen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Very tasty as written. I followed directions exactly and the bread turned out alright, without proofing the yeast ahead of time. Since it is supposed to be a "flat" bread, maybe proofing the yeast isn't all that important? Next time I will try proofing the yeast first to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
i followed the dough recipe almost exactly, including NOT curing the yeast. it turned out REALLY good and i had no problem with it rising! i didn't have mozzarella or Parmesan --i topped with red onion, olive oil, more garlic powder, fresh tomato and cheddar cheese. Next time, I'm definitely going to add more salt, and LOTS more garlic. i think Parmesan will be a lot better than cheddar too! My husband really liked this (and he's VERY picky). I can't wait to make it again, except of course make it even tastier! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
A fabulous and quick alternative to longer-rising recipes. The kicker is to make sure that the dough is left in a warm place to rise- I usually put it near the stove while it's preheating. Otherwise followed the recipe just as written and it rose nicely and baked up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 849) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States